India will play Sri Lanka, Bangladesh in T20I series     AFP
India will play Sri Lanka, Bangladesh in T20I series AFP

India will travel to Sri Lanka in March 2018 to play a T20I tri-series, featuring Sri Lanka and Bangladesh along with India. The series will be played from March 8 to 20, and is named Nidahas Trophy. There will be two league games each, and the top two sides will play the final on March 8. All games will be played at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

In a report published by cricbuzz, BCCI CEO Rahul Johri said: “We are privileged to be a part of Sri Lanka’s 70th year celebrations, there is no closer friend to the BCCI than Sri Lanka [and Bangladesh] and when Mr. Sumathipala first floated this invitation, there was almost instant agreement that the Indian Team would participate for this reason.”

This series coincides with Sri Lanka s 70th year of independence.

Sri Lanka Cricket President said: “70 years is a long journey, and one that needs to be commemorated and celebrated. We are happy that our closest neighbours, who share more or less the same journey of independence are joining us in this celebration, which we believe will be a milestone and an augur of the great things to come in the annals of cricket.”

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) President, Nazmul Hassan Papon said: “The support and contribution of Sri Lanka [and India] in Bangladesh’s cricketing journey could not be overemphasized, and that this invitation was a clear testament to what a good friend Sri Lanka has been to Bangladesh’s Cricket.

This Tournament too, would no doubt continue to strengthen the bonds between the 3 nations.”