1st ODI: Turner debuts as Australia bat; Jadeja in for Chahal
Matthew Hayden handed Ashton Turner his ODI cap. (Image courtesy: Cricket Australia twitter)

In the first match of their penultimate ODI series before the World Cup, Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bat against India in the first ODI in Hyderabad on Saturday. Ashton Turner, the Western Australia offspinner, received his ODI cap from former opener Matthew Hayden, signalling his debut.

Barring Turner, Australia made one more change from the final T20I in Bengaluru brining in Alex Carey in place of fast bowler Jhye Richardson. (READ: LIVE, India vs Australia, 1st ODI)

India opted against playing both wristspinners, resting Yuzvendra Chahal and playing Ravindra Jadeja as Kuldeep Yadav‘s spin partner. KL Rahul does not find a place in the playing XI, which means Virat Kohli will stick to his No.3 spot.

“We will bat first. It looks like a dry wicket. Hopefully, we can post a big score. We want to keep improving all the time. We have made good ground in ODIs in the last 4-5 months. We have made very good progress. Alex Carey comes in our team, Jhye Richardson misses out,” Finch said.

Kohli pointed out he would have bowled first at the Rajiv Gandhi International stadium.

“We would have bowled first. This surface is going to be hard and it will be good to bat on. We want to continue what we were doing in New Zealand. We are pretty balanced. We are giving Chahal a break today. We would rotate our wrist spinners. Our top-order is same,” Kohli said.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w), Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch(c), Usman Khawaja, Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey(w), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff