India vs Australia, 1st T20I: Virat Kohli opts to field, Yuzvendra Chahal out
Kuldeep Yadav is back for the first T20 in Australia. @Getty

Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli has chosen to field in the first of three Twenty20 internationals against Australia in Brisbane on Wednesday.

Kuldeep Yadav slots back India s XI after being rested for the third T20I against West Indies earlier this month and the left-armer Khaleel Ahmed is the third pace bowler after the returning Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah. Krunal Pandya, as expected, is the spin-bowling allrounder.

WATCH: Gabba T20I to set the tone for India vs Australia summer

“We are going to bowl first. Looks a hard surface with a decent covering of grass. We haven’t had much of time here, so we would like to see how the pitch behaves. It’s going to be competitive, said Kohli at the toss.

ALSO READ: A cooler, calmer Kohli is good for series: Ian Healy

Australia skipper and the second-ranked batsman in T20Is, Aaron Finch, said he would also have opted to field first. The home team have brought in the legspinner Adam Zampa keeping in mind the long square boundaries at the Gabba, dropping Nathan Coulter-Nile in his place.


India XI: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 3 KL Rahul, 5 Rishabh Pant, 6 Dinesh Karthik (wk), 7 Krunal Pandya, 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Khaleel Ahmed

Australia XI: 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 D Arcy Short, 3 Chris Lynn, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stones, 6 Ben McDermott, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Andrew Tye, 9 Adam Zampa, 10 Jason Behrendorff, 11 Billy Stanlake