Australia recall Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon and Usman Khawaja for India ODIs
Nathan Lyon joins Adam Zampa as Australia's spin quotient. © Getty

Australia have named Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon and Usman Khawaja in a revamped 14-member squad for the three-match ODI series versus India this month. From the ODI squad that was beaten by South Africa in November, the selectors have dropped Travis Head, Chris Lynn, D’Arcy Short, Ben McDermott, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Ashton Agar.

The pace trio of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins have been rested keeping mine the home Tests versus Sri Lanka ahead of a series with Pakistan and then the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup followed by the Ashes. That means that from Australia’s previous ODI squad, only Aaron Finch, Alex Carey, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis and Adam Zampa have been retained.

Mitchell Marsh returns as joint vice-captain with Carey, while the pace quotient is led by Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake and the uncapped Jason Behrendorff.

Earning a surprise recall puts Siddle in line for his first ODI in eight years. The 34-year-old pace bowler has not played an ODI since November 2010. He was recalled to Australia s Test squad in September after nearly two years and later during the tour of the UAE was added to the T20I squad as cover for Starc. In 17 ODIs, Siddle has 15 wickets and if selected during the India series, it would break the record for the longest time between 50-over matches for an Australian played – currently held by Tim Zoehrer at six years and 282 days.

Despite being Australia s second-highest wicket-taker among spinners in Tests after Shane Warne, Lyon has featured in just 15 ODIs. His last game in England in June when the selectors recalled him for the first time since 2016. Khawaja, 32, played the last of his 18 ODIs in January 2017. He averages 31.26 with four fifties.

Head was been axed after scoring 1, 8 and 6 against South Africa. Lynn made 15, 44 and a first-ball duck to lower his batting average to 18.75 after four career ODIs. Short played one ODI in that series loss, in which he failed to score. McDermott, uncapped at ODI level, has been omitted without getting a chance to push his claims, but scores of 4, 2*, 32* and 0 in four home T20Is could have led to his absence.

Australia face India for three ODIs on January 12, 15 and 18.

Australia ODI squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa