New Zealand registered their first series win over India since 2002-03 © Getty Images
New Zealand registered their first series win over India since 2002-03 © Getty Images


Wellington: Feb 18, 2014


Statistical highlights on the fifth and final day of the second Test between India and New Zealand.


# Zaheer Khan (5/170) has registered his eleventh instance of five wickets in an innings in Tests, his fourth against New Zealand — three at Basin Reserve, Wellington and one at Westpac Park in Hamilton.


# Zaheer became the first Indian bowler to produce four five-wicket hauls in Tests in New Zealand.


# Zaheer has bowled 50 overs or more in an innings for the first time and produced his first instance of conceding 100 runs or more apart from recording a five-wicket haul. His tally of runs is the highest conceded by an Indian speedster in a Test innings outside the sub-continent.


# Overall, only Kapil Dev has conceded more runs in a Test innings — 38.4-3-220-7 against Pakistan at Faisalabad in January 1983 (excluding slow bowlers).


# Zaheer has registered eight five-wicket hauls in overseas Tests and became the first bowler to record three five-wicket hauls vs New Zealand at Basin Reserve, Wellington.


# Zaheer has captured 17 wickets (ave.24.41) in three Tests — the most any bowler vs New Zealand at Basin Reserve, bettering the 16 (ave.17.00) in three Tests by Courtney Walsh.  Only New Zealand’s Chris Martin has produced more five-wicket hauls (four) than Zaheer at this venue.


# Virat Kohli (105 not out off 135 balls) has recorded his first Test century in the fourth innings of a Test match. His innings is his highest against New Zealand, bettering 103 off 193 balls at Bangalore in August 2012.


# Kohli’s third Test century overseas is his sixth in Tests — his first two on foreign soil were 116 off 213 balls vs Australia at Adelaide in January 2012 and 119 off 181 balls vs South Africa at Johannesburg in December last year.


# Kohli became the fourth Indian batsman to record a hundred in the fourth innings of a Test match against New Zealand. Rahul Dravid (103 not out) and Sourav Ganguly (101 not out) had made the hundreds at Hamilton in January 1999 and Shikhar Dhawan – 115 at Auckland in February 2014.


# Mahendra Singh Dhoni has effected 19 dismissals in four Tests — an Indian record by a wicketkeeper against New Zealand in New Zealand. His overall tally of 33 dismissals in 9 Tests is a record by a wicketkeeper in India-New Zealand Tests.


# Bradley-John Watling, with 15 dismissals, has set a record by a wicketkeeper for most dismissals in a Test series in India-New Zealand Tests.


# Watling became the only New Zealand wicketkeeper to effect 15 dismissals in a two-Test series. Only Kamran Akmal, with 16 dismissals against West Indies in 2005, has effected more dismissals in a two-Test series than Watling.


# New Zealand have won their first Test series against India since winning 2-0 in 2002-03 in New Zealand. The 2003-04 Test series was a drawn rubber and after that they lost the next three to India in 2008-09; 2010-11 and 2012.


# India have lost four consecutive overseas Test series — 0-4 to England in 2011; 0-4 to Australia in 2011-12; 0-1 to South Africa in 2013-14 & 0-1 to New Zealand in 2013-14.


# New Zealand (680 for eight wickets declared) have registered their highest total in Tests, surpassing the 671 for four vs Sri Lanka at Wellington in 1990-91 – the two highest totals in the second innings by any side in Test Cricket.


# Brendon McCullum (302) became the first New Zealand player to post a triple century in Tests, bettering Martin Crowe’s 299 vs Sri Lanka at Wellington in 1990-91.


# McCullum became the second player to post a triple hundred in the second innings. Pakistan’s Hanif Mohammad had recorded 337 vs West Indies at Bridgetown in January 1958. McCullum is now the first captain to achieve the distinction in the second innings of a Test match.


# McCullum has become the eighth captain in Tests to register an innings of 300 or more. Brian Lara is the only one to post an unbeaten 400 – against England at St.John’s in April 2004.


# McCullum has become the first batsman to record a triple hundred in India-New Zealand Tests. Overall, eight captains have 300 or more to their credit in Tests.


# McCullum has got the Man of the Match award four times in Tests — three times against India.


# McCullum, in all, has batted for 775 minutes, the longest by a New Zealand batsman and the eighth longest in the history of Test cricket.


# McCullum has amassed 535 at an average of 133.75 — a record by any captain in a two-Test rubber. His overall record against India is quite impressive, totalling 1224 runs at an average of 68.00, including four hundreds. He is the only one to manage 1,000 runs or mroe against India.


# Jimmy Neesham, with his unbeaten 137 off 154 balls, has established a record as number eight batsman. His innings is the highest on Test debut, bettering Pakistan’s Azhar Mahmood’s 128 not out against South Africa at Rawalpindi in October 1997.


# Scott Styris (107 vs West Indies at St.George’s in June 2002) and Bruce Taylor (105 vs India at Kolkata in March 1965) were the first two number eight batsmen to record hundreds on debut for New Zealand.


# In all, seven players have recorded Test hundreds while batting at number eighth position on debut. Besides Neesham, Azhar, Styris and Taylor, Roger Hartigan (Australia), Deepak Shodhan (India) and Thilan Samaraweera (Sri Lanka) have registered centuries at number eight on debut in Tests.


# Neesham’s aforesaid century is the tenth by a New Zealander on Test debut.


# For India, Shikhar Dhawan has top-scored in the just concluded series, totalling 215 (ave.53.75) in four innings.


# Ishant Sharma, with 15 wickets at 25.13 runs apiece, is the leading wicket-taker in the rubber. The said tally is his best in a two-Test series.


# Two New Zealand batsmen at number seven or lower have recorded hundreds in a Test innings for the second time – the first instance being when Brendon McCullum (111) and Daniel Vettori (127) scored hundreds as number seven and eight respectively against Zimbabwe at Harare in 2005.


# Three batsmen have registered centuries in the same Test innings for New Zealand six times.