3rd T20I: Unchanged India bat, South Africa swap Nortje for Hendricks
Beuran Hendricks has picked up 16 wickets for South Africa. (AFP Image)

An unchanged India will be batting first against South Africa in Bangalore’s M Chinnaswamy stadium after Virat Kohli won the toss for the second time in the series. This is the first time that a team winning the toss will be batting first at the venue since it has always favoured the chasing side.

3rd T20I – Live Updates|Scorecard

South Africa have made one change bringing in left-arm pacer Beuran Hendricks in place of Anrich Nortje, who went wicketless for 27 runs in three overs in Mohali.


We’re going to bat first, looks like a nice wicket,” India skipper Kohli said at the toss. “I know it’s a chasing ground, that’s what teams do here in the IPL too, but heading into the World Cup, we want to strengthen areas and put ourselves under pressure. Of course results are always going to be a priority, but we need to push ourselves out of our comfort zone with the World Cup coming up. We have an unchanged XI.”

Quinton de Kock said the decision to include Hendricks was made to give South Africa the option of playing a left-arm pacer and was confident of the surface not behaving differently throughout the match.

“Whether we bat or bowl first we just have to make sure we come out here and compete,” de Kock said. “I think the last game was up and down for our team but we spoke about it and we’re going to try and correct our mistakes. We’ve got one change, Beuran Hendricks comes in for Anrich Nortje. Nice to have a lefty in the attack.”

India’s Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (Capt), Rishabh Pant (WK), Shreyas Iyer, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

South Africa’s Playing XI: Reeza Hendricks, Quinton de Kock (WK/CAPT), Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Kagiso Rabada, Beuran Hendricks, Tabraiz Shamsi