India, who had recently won their three-match T20I series against West Indies across Florida and Guyana, made just one change to the squad as Hardik came in place of Bhuvneshwar Kumar. @AFP

Hardik Pandya made a comeback to the Indian squad while MS Dhoni was not picked as the MSK Prasad-led selection panel on Thursday announced India‘s 15-man squad for the three-match T20I series against South Africa.

The selectors decided to stick with Rishabh Pant as they aim to build a team for the 2020 ICC World Cup T20, which will be played in Australia in October.

India, who had recently won the three-match T20I series against West Indies, made just one change to the squad as Hardik replaced Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Jasprit Bumrah, who was rested for the West Indies ODIs and T20Is, was not also named in the squad.


Earlier, Dhoni was not selected in India’s T20I and ODI squads for the West Indies series after the former India captain informed the selection committee that he would take a break to serve his regiment in Territorial Army.

The three-match T20I series will kick off in Dharamsala on Sunday, September 15. While Mohali will host the second game of the series on September 18, the third and final T20I of the series will be played in Bengaluru on September 22.

ALSO READ: No Rishabh Pant backup, wait continues for Shubman Gill talking points from India s squad selection for South Africa T20Is

South Africa will be led by wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock in the T20I series while Rassie van der Dussen will be de Kock s deputy.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (captain), Rassie van der Dussen (vice-captain), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts

India-South Africa T20I series schedule:

1st T20I, September 15: Dharamsala

2nd T20I, September 18: Mohali

3rd T20I, September 22: Bengaluru