India © Getty Images
India have already won the series © Getty Images

India will take on Zimbabwe in the third and final One-Day International (ODI) at the Harare Sports Club. India have already won the series after pulling off two consecutive wins, but they will want to complete a clean-sweep of the series with this match. SCORECARD: India vs Zimbabwe 2015, 3rd ODI at Harare

Ajinkya Rahane has led India well for the very first time, and after a shaky first ODI, the batsmen have come to the fore as well. Rahane himself scored a half-century in the second match, as did Murali Vijay, and Ambati Rayudu was outstanding in the opening match with his second ODI ton. Sadly for Rayudu, an injury has ended his series prematurely and he has been replaced by Sanju Samson. READ: Ambati Rayudu’s ton against Zimbabwe shows he can fit into the full strength Indian team with ease

Robin Uthappa, Manoj Tiwary, and Kedar Jadhav have not quite set the stage afire, and will want to pull up their socks to put in a better performance. Stuart Binny has had a successful series with both bat and ball, and seems to have come of age in international cricket. READ: Stuart Binny proving his worth as premier all-rounder for India

On the bowling front, India could consider opting for the young and exciting Sandeep Sharma. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been consistent as ever, while Dhawal Kulkarni has bowled well also. Harbhajan Singh has had a decent return to ODI cricket, while Akshar Patel has been consistent as well. Karn Sharma was unfortunate to miss out with an injury. READ: India vs Zimbabwe 2015: Visitors face batting order conundrum

Zimbabwe have been good in patches but they are yet to string together consistent performances across a match. Elton Chigumbura played an outstanding innings in the first ODI and took Zimbabwe to within striking distance of victory, but the bowlers let the team down in the second match. Without Brendan Taylor in the side, the batting looks a bit shaky.  READ: Bhuvneshwar Kumar: India’s unsung hero

There are unlikely to be too many changes in either side, though India will definitely have to make a forced change with Rayudu getting injured. Manish Pandey could finally make his ODI debut. Sandeep is another potential debutant for India. On the whole, the visitors start as undoubted favourites to complete a 3-0 whitewash. Zimbabwe will need to dig deep in order to pull off a victory. READ: Re-living Elton Chigumbura’s against-the-tide innings


Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (c), Regis Chakabva (wk), Chamu Chibhabha, Graeme Cremer, Neville Madziva, Hamilton Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams.

India: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), Stuart Binny, Harbhajan Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Akshar Patel, Sanju Samson, Sandeep Sharma, Mohit Sharma,Manoj Tiwary, Murali Vijay.

TIME: 9.00 Local |7.00 GMT| 12.30 IST

(Shiamak Unwalla, a reporter with CricketCountry, is a self-confessed Sci-Fi geek who loves cricket more than cricketers. His Twitter handle is @ShiamakUnwalla)