India captain Virat Kohli. @ Twitter

Virat Kohli has been rested for the fourth and final ODIs against New Zealand as well as the following three-match Twenty20 Internationals, the BCCI announced on Wednesday. In the interim, Rohit Sharma will lead the side.

With the ICC World Cup 2019 just about four months away, the think-tank has been keeping a close watch on the workload of its players. (India vs New Zealand, 1st ODI: FULL SCORECARD)

“India Captain Virat Kohli will be rested for the fourth and fifth ODI against New Zealand and the subsequent T20I series. Considering his workload in the last few months, the team management and Senior selection committee is of the view that it would be ideal for him to get adequate rest ahead of the home series against Australia,” the BCCI said in a statement on Wednesday.

“There will be no replacement for Mr. Kohli in the squad for the New Zealand series. Rohit Sharma will captain the side in the final two ODIs and T20I series,” added the BCCI media release. (ALSO READ: Virat Kohli surpasses Brian Lara to enter top-10 ODI run-getters list)

Kohli, who was last rested for the Asia Cup in September last year following India s tour of Ireland and England, returned to the squad for the West Indies series before the Indian team boarded the flight to Australia where they achieved history after clinching, both the Test and ODI series.

Kohli, who fell five runs short of his 49th ODI fifty, led India to an emphatic eight-wicket win against New Zealand in the five-match series opener at Napier on Wednesday.

The swashbuckling batsman on Tuesday created history to become the first cricketer to make a clean-sweep of the ICC s individual awards. Kohli won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year, the Test and ODI Player of the Year. He was also announced as the captain of the ICC s Test and ODI teams of the year line-ups which were dominated by Indian players. (ALSO READ: You have made my day with the great news: Sir Garfield Sobers tells Virat Kohli after sweeping ICC awards)

After the tour of New Zealand, India will host Australia for two T20Is which begins on February 24 at Bengaluru. The five-match ODI series gets underway on March 2 in Hyderabad. With the World Cup in sight, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set for an early start. Season 12 will now begin on March 23. The BCCI is yet to announce the full schedule.