The captains of the eight franchises will be present at the ceremony. Photo Courtesy: NDTV via Twitter.
The captains of the eight franchises will be present at the ceremony. Photo Courtesy: NDTV via Twitter.

Catch all the live updates of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 opening ceremony from Kolkata here

10.30 PM: Saif concludes the show by calling the stars on to the stage, with the Kolkata sky getting lit by fireworks. Now, onto the fireworks that will light the tournament opener between KKR and MI at the Eden Gardens on Wednesday. It is a goodbye from us at CricketCountry! Goodnight!

10.21 PM: Saif returns to the stage, and Hrithik Roshan is our next performer for the evening. Starts off with the ever popular ‘Ek pal ka jeena’. The crowd is suddenly back on its feet again. And the award for the most-anticipated performer of the evening is not a difficult one to award. More Hrithik numbers follow, including ‘Dhoom Machale’. The crowd break into “Hrithik! Hrithik!” chants. “Kolkata! Kamon Acho? Bhalo toh! Thank You Kolkata! Thank you so much!,” goes Hrithik after getting the microphone. The Bollywood hearthrob mentions getting a shawl from West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, which he wears during his performance.

9.58 PM: The crowd goes berserk when Saif announces the name of Sourav Ganguly, or Dada. Next performance — Farhan Akhtar. The multi-talented Akhtar starts off with a beautiful montage that contains the poetry from ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’. Akhtar goes on to perform on stage with his band Farhan Akhtar Live. “Enjoy the evening, and enjoy the IPL!,” Akhtar signs off with the statement.

9.44 PM: Saif introduces the next performer of the night — Anushka Sharma! And the crowd instantly goes “Virat! Virat! Virat!”. The Bollywood actress in the meantime performs on some of her numbers, including “Thug Le”. Meanwhile the crowd goes wild after the cameraman focuses on Virat Kohli, not once but twice!






9.39 PM: Back to the live show after a commercial break. Saif now takes us through a video recap of the winning moments of the finals of the previous editions. Saif, in the meantime, takes a poll for the crowd’s favourite players, with MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli eliciting the loudest cheers.


9.26 PM: Back to Saif, who gets the audience ready for a performance by actor Shahid Kapoor, who arrives at the centre in style on a bike. Dances to classic hits such as ‘Disco Dancer’, ‘Saree Ka Fall Sa’, etc. Shahid nearly collides into one of the extras at the start of his segment.



9.22 PM: Team India director Ravi Shastri arrives on stage. “Welcome to the opening night of the Pepsi IPL 2015. The great success of the IPL has made it a vehicle for the MCC Spirit of the game. Cricket should be played hard, and played to win, but not at any cost,” says Shastri, as the captains move forward to sign the MCC ‘Spirit of the Game’ bat. Dhoni is the first to move forward. The skippers pose with the trophy for a group photograph.




9.11 PM: Saif invites the captains of the respective teams- Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians), Shikhar Dhawan (Sunrisers Hyderabad), JP Duminy (Delhi Daredevils), Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals), Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore), George Bailey (Kings XI Punjab), MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings) and Gautam Gambhir (Kolkata Knight Riders). Slight goof-up in calling out the names of Rohit and Shikhar at the beginning. In the meantime, Dhoni’s name elicits the loudest cheers!

  9.08 PM: The stage gets ready for the grand entrance of evening’s host — SAIF ALI KHAN! “Hello Kolkata! Namaste India!” begins ‘Chota Nawab’ in his typical style. “Every season has its own reason to celebrate. But India now has its own season to celebrate. India now has five seasons to celebrate,” adds Saif. 9.05 PM: Host of Bengali singers begin the events with a song in the local language. Pritam Chakraborty among the singers present. 9.00 PM: “It does not rain during this time,” former KKR skipper and legend Sourav Ganguly says in an interview to Archana Vijaya. 8.50 PM: Meanwhile, the rains have finally ended at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata, with Extraaa Innings host Samir Kochhar announcing the news on the show.









Meanwhile, the news from Kolkata is that the opening ceremony has been delayed due to the rains that had been lashing at the venue for some time now. The MET office had earlier predicted that rain and thunderstorms could prove to be a hurdle for the event to successfully take place.

Samir Kochhar, Shoaib Akhtar and Navjot Singh Sidhu have officially begun the proceedings of the eighth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with Extraaa Innings. Well the ‘Thoko Meter” is sure to get the decibels in the ‘Extraaa Innings’ studio up by several notches.

7.00 PM: The live coverage has started in Sony. At the venue all the teams and skippers have arrived. Meanwhile it has started drizzling in Kolkata.


Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the opening ceremony of the eighth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), which is scheduled to take place at the Salt Lake Stadium, or the Yuva Bharati Krirangan in Kolkata on Tuesday. We will bring you the live updates from the star-studded event, which will feature a host of Bollywood celebrities along side the eight captains of the participating franchises. IPL 2015: Schedule with venue details Setting the stage for the eighth edition of the league will be tinsel town’s stars — Hrithik Roshan, Shahid Kapoor and Anushka Sharma — in what is being pitched as the ‘India ka Tyohar’ (Festival of India). The two-hour inaugural aims to charm the audience with a festive feel and includes a special segment dedicated to defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). It also incorporates more glimpses of cricket than the previous inaugurals IPL 2015: Points Table and Team Standings

Ok… Start Moojic! #whistlepodu #IdhuNammaSeason

Posted by Chennai Super Kings on Tuesday, 7 April 2015



Despite the absence of superstar Shah Rukh Khan, a regular at the inaugurals, or any foreign artist, Roshan Abbas’s Encompass Events promises a “different” and “global” experience that will entertain all. The Kolkata connect will not be forgotten. IPL 2015: Complete Coverage

All eight team captains will grace the occasion to take the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) Spirit of Cricket pledge. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) skipper Gautam Gambhir will put the trophy back in play, signalling the start of the 2015 season. However, the “hero” of the show will be the eye-popping floor projections. READ: KKR vs MI IPL 2015 Match 1 Preview