Bhuvneshwar Kumar has won the toss and Sunrisers Hyderabad have elected to bowl against Delhi Capitals. @BCCI

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has won the toss and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have elected to bowl against Delhi Capitals (DC) in the 16th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi on Thursday. (Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad: FOLLOW LATEST UPDATES)

While SRH have retained the same team which took field in the previous game, DC have made three changes to the playing XI with Ishant Sharma, Axar Patel and Rahul Tewatia coming in.

Bhuvneshwar, who is leading the side, said that SRH wanted to chase and hence, he chose to bowl first.

“We are going to bowl first. It s a dry wicket but keeping the way we ve batted in the last few games, we want to chase,” said Bhuvneshwar. (ALSO READ: Delhi vs Hyderabad: What can we expect to see?)

Shreyas Iyer, DC skipper, said that his side too would have bowled first despite their collapse in their last game against the R Ashwin-led Kings XI Punjab.

“We would have bowled first as well, irrespective of what happened the other night. Looks a dry surface and it might spin more in the second half. So, banking on that,” said Iyer at the toss.

SRH are coming into this game on the back of a 118-run win against the Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore, and will be keen to continue their winning run.

DC, meanwhile, will be looking to avoid another collapse, like the one they suffered against Kings XI Punjab in their previous game. (ALSO READ: IPL 2019: How Delhi Capitals capitulated against Kings XI Punjab)


Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Colin Ingram, Chris Morris, Axar Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane, Ishant Sharma

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), David Warner, Vijay Shankar, Yusuf Pathan, Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (captain), Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul