Ireland cricket team
Ireland will host West Indies and Bangladesh from May 5 (AFP Photo)

Ireland will host West Indies and Bangladesh for an ODI tri-series in May ahead of the ICC World Cup 2019 in England.

A double round-robin phase beginning May 5 will be followed by the final on May 17 with all the matches to be played in Dublin.

West Indies and Bangladesh will look at the tri-series as a final preparation before they get busy with the World Cup which gets underway from May 30. While West Indies start their campaign against Pakistan from May 31, Bangladesh will square off against South Africa on June 2.

As per a report in the ESPNcricinfo, few West Indies players who will be plying their trade in the Indian Premier League (IPL) won’t be asked to link up with the squad for the series.

Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Oshane Thomas and Nicholas Pooran will be participating in IPL which starts from Saturday (March 23). They will be considered for selection only if their respective franchisees fail to make the playoffs.

For Bangladesh, Shakib Al Hasan is the lone player turning out in the IPL.

The matches will be played at two venues Clontarf (Castle Avenue) and Malahide (The Village).


May 5: Ireland v West Indies, Clontarf

May 7: West Indies v Bangladesh, Clontarf

May 9: Ireland v Bangladesh, Malahide

May 11: Ireland v West Indies, Malahide

May 13: West Indies v Bangladesh, Malahide

May 15: Ireland v Bangladesh, Clontarf

May 17: Final, Malahide