Jonathan Trott, Vikram Rathour, Darren Gough in fray for India’s batting, bowling coaching post
Vikram Rathour, Jonathan Trott and, Darren Gough are on the list of candidates shortlisted by BCCI.

Kapil Dev-headed Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) is all set to name head coach of the Indian cricket team later today. Ravi Shastri, the current head coach, is leading the race for a reappointed. Tom Moody, Mike Hesson, Robin Singh, Lalchand Rajput and Phil Simmons are five other candidates who are vying for the job.

A call on the other members of the support staff is expected to be taken next week. While the board shortlisted just six candidates for the head coach job, there are a number of candidates in the fray to be part of India’s coaching staff.

As per a report in TOI, 13 candidates have been shortlisted for the batting coach position while a total of nine former players will be interviewed for the bowling coach’s job. The fielding coach’s aspirant list is short, with Jonty Rhodes and Abhay Sharma two aspirants apart from present coach R Sridhar.

Pravin Amre
Pravin Amre is one of the shortlisted candidates for the batting coach job. @BCCI

Former India opener Vikram Rathour, Rajput, Pravin Amre, Shiv Sundar Das are few of the former international players on the list. Rathour, who also served as the national selector from 2012 to 2016, leads the race to replace Sanjay Bangar.

Also Read: India’s next coach: Six interviews underway, Ravi Shastri frontrunner, CAC to announce coach after 7pm today

Former England international Jonathan Trott has put his name forward for the batting coach’s job and will also be interviewed. He retired from international cricket in 2015. Mark Ramprakash, who was most-recently the batting coach of England, has also shown interest.

Former India bowling coach Venkatesh Prasad is one of the candidates for the bowling coach role along with Dodda Ganesh, Paras Mhambrey, Sunil Joshi and Amit Bhandari. Former England pacer Darren Gough and Australia‘s Clint McKay will also be interviewed. Bharat Arun, the present bowling coach, is likely to retain his job.

List of shortlisted candidates for team India’s coaching staff

For the post of batting coach Vikram Rathour, Lalchand Rajput, Pravin Amre, Thilan Samaraweera, Hrishikesh Kanitkar, Amol Mazumdar, J Arun Kumar, Mark Ramprakash, Shiv Sundar Das, Jonathan Trott, John Lewis, Sanjay Bangar, Mithun Manhas.

For the post of bowling coach Bharat Arun, Venkatesh Prasad, Dodda Ganesh, Darren Gough, Clint McKay, Subroto Banerjee, Paras Mhambrey, Sunil Joshi, Amit Bhandari

For the post of fielding coach R Sridhar, Jonty Rhodes, Abhay Sharma