Josh Phillipe Stars As Sydney Sixers Clinch Second Big Bash League Title
Sydney Sixers celebrate after clinching BBL title (© BBL)

Sydney Sixers ended their wait for a second Big Bash League title after winning the inaugural season as they beat Melbourne Stars in a rain-curtailed final at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Saturday. The contest was reduced to 12-overs-a-side with Sixers clinching a 19-run win.

After rain delay, the match was initially reduced to 14-overs-a-side before further interruption resulted in deduction of two more overs. Sixers were put in to bat and a quickfire fifty from opener Josh Phillipe fired them to 116/5.

James Vince struggled in his 9 ball stay off which he managed just two runs before Daniel Worrall ended his misery. With the Sixers recovering from the early blow through a strong partnership between Phillipe and Steve Smith, Stars captain Glenn Maxwell introduced himself into the attack to make vital breakthroughs.

Maxwell first removed Smith on 21 and after Adam Zampa accounted for Sixers captain Moises Henriques (7), he trapped Daniel Hughes lbw for a first-ball duck. With their innings going off the track, Jordan Silk joined Phillipe to repair them damage.

They added 48 runs for the fifth wicket with Phillpe departing off the final delivery but not before hitting 52 off 29 with four fours and three sixes. Silk remained unbeaten on 27 off 15.

In replay, Stars lost their top-three including Maxwell inside three overs. Opener Marcus Stoinis struck a four and a six before being dismissed off the fourth delivery of their chase. Nic Maddison faced four deliveries without disturbing the scorecard and Maxwell managed five before leaving his team in all sorts of trouble.

18/3 soon became 40/5 with Sixers on top.

Nick Larkin (38 not out) and Nathan Coulter-Nile (19 not out) led their recovery but Stars finished on 97/6.

Brief Scores: Sydney Sixers 116/5 (Josh Phillipe 52; Glenn Maxwell 2/17, Adam Zampa 2/24) beat Melbourne Stars 97/6 (Nick Larkin 38*; Nathan Lyon 2/19, Steve O’Keefe 2/27) by 19 runs