Kieron Pollard appointed West Indies’ limited-overs captain: Report
Kieron Pollard (AFP Photo)

West Indies have reportedly sacked Jason Holder and Carlos Brathwaite as ODI and T20I captains respectively with Kieron Pollard set to take over the duties in limited-overs cricket.

The decision comes after West Indies’ finished ninth among the 10 participating teams at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England earlier this year. Following their disastrous performance at the showpiece ODI event, West Indies also suffered defeats to India in a T20I series (0-3) and ODI series (0-2) which they hosted.

READ: CPL 2019 – Pooran, Rutherford and Shepherd star in Warriors win

Holder though has managed to retain his position as Test captain despite a 0-2 defeat in a two-match series to India.

According to a report in the Trinidad and Tobago Guardian, the decision to appoint Pollard as the white-ball captain was taken by the Cricket West Indies Board of Directors on Saturday during their two-day quarterly meet in Port-of-Spain. The selection committee proposed his name and when vote was taken, six directors backed him while the remaining six abstained.

While Pollard is a T20I regular, he hasn’t played an ODI in almost three years. His last ODI appearance was in October 2016 and despite calls for his inclusion, he was left out of the West Indies squad for the world cup in England. The 32-year-old batting allrounder was the top-run getter in the India T20I series, scoring 115 in three innings including a half-century.

Pollard has played 101 ODIs, scored 2289 runs alongside three centuries and nine half-centuries. In 62 T20Is, he has 903 runs with three fifties and boasts of a career strike-rate of 125.41.

Currently, Pollard is captaining Trin­ba­go Knight Rid­ers (TKR) in the ongoing Caribbean Premier League (CPL) in the absence of allrounder Dwayne Bravo who will be out of action for two months following a finger injury.

TKR have made a solid start to their season with three wins in as many games and will next face Jamaica Tallawahs whom they beat by 22 runs in their second match of CPL 2019.