A struggling Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will face off against the exciting Delhi Daredevils (DD) in Match 36 of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 at Mohali. To say that this edition of IPL has been unpredictable is an understatement. At the auctions it seemed like DD were likely to end up as wooden-spooners again while KXIP seemed to have sorted itself out after the last season’s disappointment. The opposite has transpired so far in IPL 9. DD have looked by far one of the most exciting teams of the tournament, with the young guns coming good more often than not; KXIP meanwhile have looked like an action replay of themselves in IPL 2015. Live Cricket Scorecard: Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils, IPL 2016 Match 36 at Mohali

DD have been led brilliantly by Zaheer Khan, and currently sit among the top four of the points table. However, they were beaten in their last match against Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) after making a slew of changes to their playing XI. With Zaheer having picked up a bit of a niggle JP Duminy took over the reins but failed to keep up the winning momentum. DD would look to revert to their tried and tested line-up moving further as another couple of losses could complicate things.

Meanwhile, KXIP have picked up over the last couple of games. Having beaten Gujarat Lions (GL) in shocking fashion they nearly followed up with a win in their next match over Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) but narrowly ended up on the losing side by just 7 runs. They will offer a firm test to DD.

The last time these two sides met, KXIP were absolutely shattered by Amit Mishra, who snared 4 for 11. Quinton de Kock then scored an unbeaten half-century to guide DD to an easy win. KXIP have since turned the corner thanks to Murali Vijay’s captaincy. With Glenn Maxwell having looked in increasingly good form over the last few matches, it seems more and more likely that KXIP will cause a few upsets toward the latter end of the tournament.

On the whole, it will not be an easy match to predict. KXIP are playing at home so have an added advantage, while DD are coming off a defeat. However, given the overall form of both teams so far in the tournament it would seem that DD will be the more confident team when the sides clash at Mohali.


Delhi Daredevils: Zaheer Khan (c), Amit Mishra, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Shami, Saurabh Tiwary, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mayank Agarwal, Jayant Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Imran Tahir, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Sanju Samson, Carlos Brathwaite, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Sam Billings, Chama Milind, Pratyush Singh, Mahipal Lomror, Saeed Khaleel Ahmed, Akhil Herwadkar, Pawan Suyal, Joel Paris.

Kings XI Punjab: David Miller, Murali Vijay (c), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchel Johnson, Kyle Abott, Farhaan Behardien, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Mohit Sharma, Gurukeerat Singh, Manan Vohra, Sandeep Sharma, Shaun Marsh, Akshar Patel, Rishi Dhawan, Marcus Stoinis, Swapnil Singh, Shardul Thakur, Anureet Singh, K C Carriappa, Nikhil Naik, Arman Jaffar, Pradeep Shahu.

Time: 20:00 IST | 14:30 GMT

(Shiamak Unwalla, a reporter with CricketCountry, is an animal lover and comic, film and TV geek. A fast bowler at heart, he loves watching a good, low-scoring game of cricket. His Twitter handle is @ShiamakUnwalla)