KKR vs CSK in CLT20 2014: Ryan ten Doeschate, Andre Russell lead inspiring fightback

Sep 17, 2014

The duo of Ryan ten Doeschate and Andre Russell led an inspiring fightback for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the first Champions League T20 (CLT20) 2014 match of the main round. With just 57 runs needed off the last six overs, KKR were by no means out of the contest.

Earlier, after a brief resistance, Suryakumar Yadav was dismissed for a 17-ball 19, getting a leading edge off Ravindra Jadeja to Ravichandran Ashwin at third man. Ashish Nehra took his third wicket as Manvinder Bisla was the batsman to be dismissed, caught by Ravichandran Ashwin. Mohit Sharma struck with his first delivery, getting Yusuf Pathan to edge to slip after a momentary hold-up which saw Mohit Sharma bowling an over after Dhoni wanted Ishwar Pandey to bowl. Mohit completed his over, getting hit for a couple of boundaries by Ryan ten Doeschate.

Nehra struck twice in two balls, getting rid of Gautam Gambhir for six and Manish Pandey for a golden duck. Nehra opened the bowling for CSK with Manivnder Bisla and Gautam Gambhir coming out for KKR. Nehra bowled well, giving away just one run off the bat. Ishwar Pandey continued, providing some steep bounce right away. The first two overs cost CSK nine runs, but Nehra got rid of Gambhir off the first ball of the third over.

Earlier, MS Dhoni and Dwayne Bravo boosted CSK to a challenging total despite an unbelievable spell from Sunil Narine which saw him concede merely nine runs off his four overs. Dhoni’s unbeaten 35 was the highest, as none of the other players were able to touch 30.

KKR won the toss and elected to field first. Robin Uthappa and Jacques Kallis missed the game due to minor niggles, but are expected back for the next few games. For CSK, Dwayne Bravo made his come-back after missing much of IPL 2014 to injury.

Catch the live scorecard of the match here

Catch live blog of the KKR vs CSK match here

Complete coverage of Champions League T20 (CLT20) 2014 here