Kumar Sangakkara will be up against Pakistan legend Imran Khan in the semis of ODI GOAT. © AFP (File Photo) Kumar Sangakkara will be up against Pakistan legend Imran Khan.
Kumar Sangakkara will be up against Pakistan legend Imran Khan. © Getty Images

The ODI GOAT (Greatest Of All Time), which is poll contest conducted by cricket.com.au is in its final phases and according to the latest numbers, Kumar Sangakkara will now face Imran Khan in the semi-finals. Sri Lankan batting maestro, Sangakkara beat Australian spin great Shane Warne in the quarter-finals of the voting. Sanga has scored 14,234 runs in 404 matches for his country at an average of 41.98. His strike rate of 78.86 was excellent too and the left-hander emerged as one of the best left-handed batsman the world has ever seen. Imran Khan, is no less a competitor too. He has 182 wickets to his name in 175 matches for Pakistan. ALSO READ: Sanath Jayasuriya beats Virat Kohli in ODI GOAT; will take in Sachin Tendulkar in semi-final

Imran Khan is known for his leadership skills that he showed while taking Pakistan to their first World Cup win in the 1992 World Cup. He had an economy of 3.98 in his career. His best bowling figures were 6-14. The cricketer turned politician now has a tough opponent in Sanga to beat in the semi-finals of the poll. ALSO READ: Shane Warne pips Muttiah Muralitharan by a whisker in ODI GOAT contest

Kumar Sangakkara was known for his shots on the offside particularly along with the consistency that he showed in his performances for Sri Lanka. He was a superb wicketkeeper as well and his record of 482 dismissals proves just that. He was at his very best in the World Cup 2015 scoring 4 back-to-back hundreds as he broke the record for most number of consecutive hundreds. Sanga also holds the record for most runs scored in a calendar year i.e. 1025 runs in the year 2015.

ODI GOAT, which is the official website of Cricket Australia has started a unique competition, where they have picked the top 64 ODI players of all time and have thrown it open to the fans to decide who the better ODI cricketer according to them is.