Kevin O'Brien slammed the first Test hundred for Ireland    Getty Images
Kevin O’Brien slammed the first Test hundred for Ireland Getty Images

Kevin O Brien became first Ireland player to score a Test hundred. He scored his hundred in Ireland s inaugural Test against Pakistan at Dublin on Day 4 of the match. He also became the 105th player to score a Test hundred on debut. Let us have a look at all the players who scored debut hundreds for their national team in Test cricket. The list includes the likes of WC Grace, Lala Amarnath, Nazar Mohammad and Dave Houghton. Houghton, Animul Islam, O Brien and Charles Bannerman scored hundred in debut Tests for their countries. O’Brien is also the 3rd oldest batsman to score a Test on debut.

Team Batsman Score Against Venue Season First Test of team
Australia Charles Bannerman 165* England Melbourne 1876-77 Yes
England WG Grace 152 Australia The Oval 1880
South Africa Jimmy Sinclair 106 South Africa Cape Town 1898-99
West Indies Clifford Roach 122 England Bridgetown 1929-30
New Zealand Stewie Dempster 136 England Wellington 1929-30
India Lala Amarnath 118 England Bombay 1932-33
Pakistan Nazar Mohammad 124* India Lucknow 1952-53
Sri Lanka Sidath Wettimuny 157 Pakistan Faisalabad 1981-82
Zimbabwe Dave Houghton 121 India Harare 1992-93 Yes
Bangladesh Animul Islam 145 India Dhaka 2000-01 Yes
Ireland Kevin O’Brien 118* Pakistan Malahide 2018 Yes

O’Brien also has the fastest ever World Cup century. His 100 came in 50-balls against England in 2011 World Cup.