Live Updates

  • 8:29 PM IST


  • 8:23 PM IST

    STAT ALERT: Jhulan Goswami, earlier becoming the first woman to claim 1,000 run-150 wicket double, is now standing at 199 ODI scalps. One away from becoming the first woman cricketer with 200 scalps. Legendary!

  • 8:22 PM IST

    Match report in a while…Stay tuned.

  • 8:22 PM IST

    Who would have thought India would have a chance after a meek surrender for 213 for 7. They were in a dominating position at 154 for 1 at one stage. Nonetheless, just like the men’s team, South Africa women collapsed with the willow and conceded the hard-earned momentum to Indian eves.

  • 8:21 PM IST

    If it was Shikha Pandey’s early breakthroughs if initiated the downfall, Poonam Yadav and Rajeshwari Gayakwad kept it tight and chipped in with wickets in the middle overs. The only resistance was provided by Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp. Since their fall, Jhulan Goswami came into picture. She led to the lower order’s dismissal and wrapped up the innings in style.

  • 7:43 PM IST

  • 7:35 PM IST

    In 32 overs, SA have managed 92 for 5. Not even into three figures, and half the side back into the hut. This is going India’s way unless someone plays a counterattacking innings.

  • 6:53 PM IST

    They are currently reeling at 54 for 4 (21).

  • 6:53 PM IST

    Indian spinners, Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwariu Gayakwad and Poonam Yadav are operating in tandem. Mithali attacking courtesy South Africa’s early wickets.

  • 6:42 PM IST

    And Poonam Yadav joins the party. Laura Wolvaardt departs for 21. A soft dismissal as Mithali Raj plucks a simple catch.

© Getty Images
© Getty Images

Hello and welcome to the live blog of the first ODI between India Women and South Africa Women. We, at CricketCountry, will bring all the live updates, stats, as well as interesting posts from the social media universe. The venue for the first two encounters is Diamond Oval, Kimberly, and the final will be played at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom.

The last time these teams locked horns was in the 2017 Women’s World Cup, at Leicester. Captain Dane van Niekerk’s four-wicket haul restricted India to 158 all-out in the pursuit of 274.

In the last five matches, South Africa have batted first against India but have emerged victorious only twice.

India have not played international cricket since the final of the 2018 World Cup. “Every match will be scrutinised by people, by the critics, by everybody, because now people have seen the actual standard of women’s cricket and the Indian team. So, yes, from now on whatever matches that we get to play, will be closely watched by all of them (and) followed by all the cricket fanatic people in our country as well as around the world,” said Mithali Raj in the pre-match conference.


India: Mithali Raj (c), Taniya Bhatia (wk), Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Mona Meshram, Shikha Pandey, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Sushma Verma (wk) and Poonam Yadav

South Africa: Dane van Niekerk (c), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Andrie Steyn, Raisibe Ntozakhe and Zintle Mali