Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 1 of the Group C game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Kerala and Tripura, live from Perintalmanna Cricket Stadium, Malappuram. Kerala are by far the superior team in this match. They have nine points from four matches. They drew three and lost two matches. On the other hand, Tripura is hanging at the last spot in Group C in the points table. They have just one point from four matches. They have lost three matches and drew only one. Their performance has been miserable in this series. It’s not that they lost two matches but the manner in which they lost, never able to fight their way back. They also lost their last match against Himachal Pradesh by an innings and six runs. Complete coverage of Ranji Trophy 2015-16

Live cricket scores Kerala | 223/4 | Overs 90 | Batting: Rohan Prem 94(226), Robert 22(62): After Sanju Samson’s wicket, Tripura managed just one more breakthrough. Caught and bowl from Saurab Das dismissed Sachin Baby who contributed with an excellent 70 from 163 deliveries. Meanwhile, one-down batsman Rohan held nerves and batted till the end of the day. he remained inbeaten on 94 from 226 balls and Kerala will want him to carry the same momentum on Day 2. OUT! Sachin Baby c&b Saurabh Das 70(163)

Live cricket scores Kerala | 125/3 | Overs 52 | Batting: Rohan Prem 44(111), Sachin Baby 1(13): Saurabh Das bagged the big wicket of Sanju Samson. The Kerala skipper faced 13 deliveries scoring just one run before getting dismisssed on the fourth delivery of the 19th over, leaving his side at 36 for 3. Earlier, Arundhadi Jagadeesh got himself run out in the 17th over. Meanwhile, Rohan and Sachin are well on way to their respective half-centuries. Kerala want the duo to stick around till the end of the day to ensure a big total on board. OUT! Arundhadi Jagadeesh run out 12(47)  OUT! Sanju Samson c&b Saurabh Das 1(13)

Live cricket scores Kerala | 24/1 | Overs 12 | Batting: Arundhadi Jagadeesh 7(37), Rohan Prem 1(4): Tripura’s Mura Singh struck early to remove Kerala opener Akshay Kodoth. He scored a 32-ball 10 before Singh trapped him leg before wicket in on the last dleivery of the ninth over. OUT! Akshay Kodoth LBW M B Mura Singh 10(32)

Kerala’s captain Sanju Samson will have to shoulder the burden of scoring runs along with Rohan Prem who has been in very good form in this tournament. Tripura are depending too heavily on UU Bose, the batting burden should be shouldered by other batsmen as well. Since, the pitch is expected to assist the spinners, slower bowlers will hold the key in the match but a lot will also depend on how the fast bowlers pick wickets with the new ball. This will be Tripura’s chief worry, they have lost too many wickets in the first hour of this tournament and would like to change this negative trend in this match.


Kerala: Sanju Samson (c & wk), VA Jagadeesh, Akshay Kodoth, Rohan Prem, Sachin Baby, Raiphi Gomez, Sandeep Warrier, Akshay Chandran, KS Monish, Robert Fernandez, Unnikrishnan Manukrishnan.

Tripura: Abhijit Dey (c), Nirupam Sen Chowdhary (wk), Rana Dutta, AK Sarkar, Mura Singh, Kaushal Acharjee, Swapan Das, Arindam Das, Udiyan Bose, Subash Chakraborty, Manisankar Mansingh, Parvinder Singh, Tushar Saha, Abhijit Sarkar, Nirupam Sen, Rakesh Solanki, Subhrajit Roy, UU Bose, Arindam Das