Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog of day 1 of the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2015-16 Group A match between Madhya Pradesh and Mumbai in Rohtak on Monday. Mumbai have been in outstanding form this season and are not surprisingly leading the Group B standings. It will take a mammoth effort from Madhya Pradesh to stop Mumbai from winning, who are currently placed third in the table with 17 points. Mumbai won a thrilling contest against Railways in the previous round by chasing down 295 in 70 overs to give themselves an outright win. Shreyas Iyer and opener Anil Herwadkar were the stars of the show. Ranji Trophy 2015-16, complete coverage

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Mumbai 74/6. BATTING: Nikhil A Patil 10 (28), Iqbal Abdullah 0 (6) — STUMPS!!!! What on earth!!!! Mumbai have lost six wickets for 74 out of nowhere. Jalaj Saxena and Ankit Sharma have claimed three each as Mumbai have been rattled. What to expect on Day 2?

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: Mumbai 23/0. BATTING: Akhil Herwadkar 11 (13), JG Bista 16 (26) — BOWLED OUT!!!! MP have been bundled for 240 as Ankush Jaiswalclaims 4 for 46, whi8le the Mukmbai batsmen are off to a slow start.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: MP 205/9, Ishwar Pandey 12 (9), Mihir Hirwani 10 (9) — OMG!!!! They are down to nine out of no where as they just strike the 200-run mark. Ankush Jaiswal has claimed four for 46 so far.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: MP 170/5, Harpreet Singh Bhatia 55 (128), Rameez Khan 22 (47) — No harm done agains as the batsmen have eld the innings so far and look to make sure that they don’t suffer any further setbacks, while Harpreet scores his half-century.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: MP 133/5, Harpreet Singh Bhatia 44 (100), Rameez Khan 0 (6) — GONE!!!! MP kick off the post-lunch session on a disappointing note as they lose Devendra Bundela for 14, with half of the team back to the pavilion.

OUT! Devendra Bundela b Shardul 14 (64)

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: MP 127/4, Harpreet Singh Bhatia 38 (84), Devendra Bundela 14 (53) — LUNCH!!!! MP too move into the lunch break with no further damage, but certainly a considerable damage has been done to their innings and must capitalise following the break.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: MP 100/4, Harpreet Singh Bhatia 16 (42), Devendra Bundela 11 (23) — GONE!!!! 2 more down for MP as they continue to struggle with the bat. However, they have crossed the 100-run mark, but need to save wickets in order to play well and build a strong innings.

OUT! Rajat Patidar ct Shreyas Iyer b Iqbal Abdullah 26 (36), Naman Ojha ct Akhil Herwadkar b Ankush Jaiswal 15 (39)

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: MP 34/2, Rajat Patidar 9 (13), Naman Ojha 1 (9) — GONE!!!! 2 early breakthroughs for Mumbai as they get the opening wickets of Aditya Shrivastava and Jalaj Saxena as Shardul and Vishal Dabholkar claim the wickets.

OUT! Aditya Shrivastava b Shardul 7 (22), Jalaj Saxena lbw Vishal Dabholkar 16 (18)

Though the home team lost both these batsmen and Suryakumar Yadav, skipper Aditya Tare struck form with a fluent 71 not out and also put on an unconquered partnership of 95 for the fifth wicket in 82 minutes and 124 balls to help Mumbai win on a canter. The only time Mumbai faced some anxiety during the run-chase was when left-arm spinner Sagar Mishra caught and bowled Herwadkar, who struck 7 fours and a six in his 111-ball knock, and Yadav in successive overs. Mumbai later lost Iyer, who batted fluently once again to carry on from his first innings 57 and struck 5 fours and 2 sixes in his 112-ball innings, when 96 runs were needed four minutes before tea.

TOSS: Madhya Pradesh have won the toss and they will be batting first against Mumbai in this Group B match at Indore.

Paceman RP Singh‘s five-wicket haul on the final day helped Gujarat secure a 153-run victory over Madhya Pradesh in their Group B Ranji Trophy cricket match. RP Singh ran through Madhya Pradesh’s batting line-up in their chase of 314 as the visiting side were shot out for 160 in just 49.5 overs.

Madhya Pradesh: Devendra Bundela(c), Aditya Shrivastava, Jalaj Saxena, Rajat Patidar, Naman Ojha(wk), Harpreet Singh, Rameez Khan, Ankit Sharma, Puneet Datey, Ankit Kushwah, Ishwar Pandey, Udit Birla, Mihir Hirwani, Avesh Khan, Ankit Dane, Mohnish Mishra, Yogesh Rawat

Mumbai: Aditya Tare(c & wk),Akhil Herwadkar, Jay Gokul Bista, Shreyas Iyer, Dhawal Kulkarni, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Nikhil Patil, Shardul Thakur, Harmeet Singh, Vishal Dabholkar, Shrideep Mangela, Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Badre Alam, Abhishek Nayar, Abhishek Raut.
(With inputs from PTI)


Mihir Hirwani