Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 2 of the Group B game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Saurashtra and Hyderabad, live from Rajkot. After a drama-filled day, Saurashtra will eventually start Day Two 36 runs behind with all 10 wickets intact. Day One saw 20 wickets, a lot of action, and Ravindra Jadeja take his fifth five-wicket haul in as many innings. Saurashtra, being bowled out for 102, struck back to skittle out Hyderabad for 148. Avi Barot and Sagar Jogiyani will resume Day Two on 10 without loss, and will try to wipe off the deficit as soon as possible. READ: Ranji Trophy 2015-16, full coverage here

Live cricket scores Hyderabad 134 |Target 170|   Overs 40| Batting: CV Milind 1(2): Hyderabad are bowled out for 134 and thus Saurashtra win by 34 runs in this closely fought, low scoring encounter. The match gets over within two days. Ravindra Jadeja picked six and seven wickets in the second and fourth innings of the match respectively. Thus, he took 13 wickets in total in the match which is simply spectacular. He was Saurashtra’s hero in the match and helped break the backbone of Hyderabad’s batting in both the innings. OUT! B Sandeep c Cheteshwar Pujara b Makwana 46(70), Vishal Sharma lbw Ravindra Jadeja 3(8)

Live cricket scores Hyderabad 104/8 |Target 170|   Overs 30.4| Batting: B Sandeep 28(40), Vishal Sharma 1(3): Ravindra Jadeja is proving to be very hot for Hyderabad to handle. He has completely decimated their batting attack in the fourth innings of the match as well. He took six wickets in the second innings of the match and now again in the final innings he has taken six wickets till now. Let’s see if he can take two more wickets which are remaining and take his wickets tally to 14 in this match. Brilliant performance with the ball even though he failed with the bat in the match. Hyderabad will most probably lose this match.  OUT! Sumanth Kolla lbw Ravindra Jadeja 18(33), Mehdi Hasan c AA Barot b Ravindra Jadeja 0(1), Akash Bhandari b Ravindra Jadeja 2(11)

Live cricket scores Hyderabad 86/5 |Target 170|   Overs 23| Batting: B Sandeep 19(18), Sumanth Kolla 16(25): Hyderabad have lost half their side on just 86 runs. They still need 84 more runs to win. Match is in balance right now. Credit has to be given to Saurashtra bowlers to help them get back in the match on two occasions both in the second and last i.e. current innings.  OUT! Tanmay Agarwal c Jaydev Shah b Ravindra Jadeja 0(4), Akshath Reddy b Ravindra Jadeja 26(41), B Anirudh lbw Makwana 4(11), GH Vihari c Sheldon Jackson b Ravindra Jadeja 10(36), Tirumalasetti Suman c Sheldon Jackson b DA Jadeja 0(5)

Live cricket scores Saurashtra 102 & 215| Hyderabad 148 |  Overs 67| Batting: DA Jadeja 14(25): Saurasthra close their second innings on 215. Hyderabad need 170 runs to win in their second innings. Chirag Jani was their highest scorer with 65. The game is slightly tilted in Hyderabad’s favour but since they bundled out on a mere 148 in their first innings let’s see if Saurasthra bowlers again bowl them for under 150 and hence win this match. It has been a low scoring encounter. OUT! Chirag Jani run out Sumanth Kolla 65(72), Jaydev Unadkat lbw Vishal Sharma 26(43)

Live cricket scores Saurashtra 102 & 179/8| Hyderabad 148 |  Overs 58.2| Batting: Chirag Jani 65(71), Jaydev Unadkat 8(18): Chirag Jani hits another six. He goes past his half century and follows it up with another six. He has now hit four sixes in his short innings so far. He is batting very quick at this moment (at a strike rate of 90.28) maybe fearing that he may run out of partners.  OUT! KR Makwana c Akshath Reddy b Mehdi Hasan 16(14)

Live cricket scores Saurashtra 102 & 137/7| Hyderabad 148 |  Overs 49.5| Batting: Chirag Jani 36(41), KR Makwana 12(11): Saurashtra lose their seventh wicket; they are tottering 137/7 at the moment. Chirag Jani is batting along with KR Makwana at the moment. Jani is batting quick having already hit two boundaries and two huge sixes in his short knock of 36 so far. OUT! AV Vasavada c Sumanth Kolla b Vishal Sharma 23(40)

Live cricket scores Saurashtra 102 & 69/6| Hyderabad 148 |  Overs 36| Batting: Jaydev Shah 1(2), AV Vasavada 0(3): In a dramatic batting collapse since morning Saurashtra have been reduced to 69 for six in their second innings. The critical losses were the wickets of Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravindra Jadeja. They started their innings today on 10/0 which was their overnight score yesterday. Mehdi Hasan and Vishal Sharma are bowling pretty well in tandem. In a pernicious bowling attack waged by the two bowlers since morning, they have picked four and two wickets respectively. Hyderabad certainly have an upper hand in this match now. OUT! Sagar Jogiyani b Mehdi Hasan 19(67), AA Barot c Akshath Reddy b Mehdi Hasan 25(89), Cheteshwar Pujara c GH Vihari b Mehdi Hasan 4(18), Ravindra Jadeja c Derek Prince (sub) b Vishal Sharma 3(10), Sheldon Jackson lbw Mehdi Hasan 4(15), Jaydev Shah c B Sandeep b Vishal Sharma 3(9)

Both sides went in with three spinners. Saurashtra won the crucial toss, but Jogiyani (51 in 114 balls) scored exactly half of Saurashtra’s 102, which probably tells a thing or two about how the spinners dominated proceedings. Captain Jaydev Shah (17) was the only other batsman to reach double-figures as left-arm spinner Mehdi Hasan registered a career-best 5 for 43, and supported by off-spinner Vishal Sharma, who also had his best, 4 for 30. Jadeja (2) and Cheteshwar Pujara (0), the big guns of Saurashtra, both failed, and at that time it seemed Hyderabad would run away with the match.

But Jadeja justified a recall to the Indian side in style, taking 6 for 75. He was supported by Kamlesh Makvana (4 for 23). At one stage Hyderabad were 81 for 7, but wicketkeeper Kolla Sumanth (41 in 52, 4 fours, 2 sixes) hit out, securing an all-important lead.


Saurashtra: Jaydev Shah (c), Sagar Jogiyani (wk), Avi Barot, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Chirag Jani, Kamlesh Makvana, Jaydev Unadkat, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja.

Hyderabad: Hanuma Vihari (c), Kolla Sumanth (wk), Tanmay Agarwal, Ashish Reddy, Balchander Anirudh, T Suman, BP Sandeep, Akash Bhandari, Mehdi Hasan, Vishal Sharma, Chama Milind.