AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in the third ODI © Getty Images

Jul 26, 2013

Following a 2-0 deficit in the five-match series, AB de Villiers-led South Africa will look to bring the momentum back in the balance with a win in the third One-Day International (ODI) against Sri Lanka at Pallekele.

After missing the first two games due to suspension, Sri Lankan skipper Angelo Mathews returns to the side while South Africa will rue the loss of Hashim Amla to injury. However, they need to regroup and come out stronger to stop Sri Lanka from wrapping up the series on Friday.

South Africa started well as AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat.


Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Angelo Perera, Thisara Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (c), Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Alviro Petersen, Jean-Paul Duminy, AB de Villiers (c&wk), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Robin Peterson, Ryan McLaren, Lonwabo Tsosobe, Morne Morkel, Farhaan Behardien.

Catch live scorecard and ball by ball commentary of the third ODI between Sri Lanka and South Africa here