New Hyderabad IPL team named as Sun Risers

The old Hyderabad team – Deccan Chargers, won the second Indian Premier League title Getty Images

Hyderabad: Dec 18, 2012

Newly formed Indian Premier League (IPL) Hyderabad team has been named as the Sun Risers from the 2013 season.

Sun TV Network bought the Hyderabad franchise recently and have chosen the name. On Tuesday the official twitter account of the team tweeted, “@Sun_IPL wrote: Our team will be called as ‘Sun Risers’ from #IPL 2013. Spread the word :)”

The Hyderabad franchise of the Indian Premier League (IPL) retained 20 players in their initial squad for the 2013 season of the cash-rich Twenty20 league.

Sun TV decided to retain six overseas players like Dale Steyn, Jean Paul Duminy, Kumar Sangakkara, Cameron White, Chris Lynn and Juan Theron. The new owners have spent $5 million and still have a budget of $7 million in their kitty.

(With inputs from PTI)