Pakistan announce 16-man squad for T20Is vs World XI

Pakistan will host World XI for three T20Is starting from mid September.

Related articles

© Getty Images
© Getty Images

A day after Faf du Plessis was named World XI’s skipper for the three-T20 series versus Pakistan from mid-September, Pakistan’s national selectors have announced a 16-member squad on Friday. While the core of the team remains the same from ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which they eventually won, Sohail Khan makes a comeback into the side after almost a year. He last played for Pakistan in October 2016. The subcontinental side will host World XI for three T20Is from September 12-15 at Lahore.

“The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of some players in the domestic and international tours. The players’ consists of a combination of the fine blend of youth and senior players. It would be good for the young players to get a chance to play on the home ground and perform in front of the local public” chief selector, Inzamam-ul-Haq stated.

To bring cricket back on the Pakistan soil, ICC made financial arrangements for the T20 extravaganza. After the terror attacks in 2009 at Lahore, the cricketing nations have often denied to play in Pakistan. This forced the PCB to conduct international matches in UAE. However, Zimbabwe and Afghanistan played one series each in this phase. Following the World XI series, Sri Lanka and West Indies are also expected to tour Pakistan later this year.


Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umer Amin, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hassan Ali, Amir Yamin, Mohammad Aamer, Ruman Raees, Usman Shinwari, Sohail Khan.

trending this week