Paras Khadka was dismissed on 84 falling 16 runs shot of his 2nd List A century
Paras Khadka was dismissed on 84 falling 16 runs shot of his 2nd List A century. File photo

Paras Khadka got to his half-century against Netherlands in the ICC World Cricket League Championship. Being defeated in the opener against Netherland, Nepal had to strike back. After winning the toss, Netherlands elected to ball and it looked like their decision was spot on as they got rid of opener AK Mandal and S Vesawkar in quick successions. But the Nepali skipper along with opener G Malla got their side out of trouble. The Nepali skippper has played a gentleman’s innings so far as he scored his half-century. He still has a long way to go as he needs to make sure that Nepal reaches a good total at the end of 50 overs when they set a target against Netherlands. Live Blog: Nepal vs Netherlands

The Nepali skipper changed his gears drastically as he started hitting balls all over the ground. He looked very much at ease against the Netherlands pacey balling. But just when it looked like he would get to his 2nd  List A century, Ahsan Malik got better off Khadka as he holed on a catch to Van der Merwe. His innings has been a classy one and has certainly got Nepal to a respected total against Netherlands. READ: Nepal beat Namibia by 5 wickets in ICC World Cricket League Championship

Paras Khadka, one of Nepal’s best players is the captain of the side and he will be entrusted to lead Nepal to a good position. Netherlands on the other hand will be led by Peter Borren, who has been the captain for some time now. Both teams are certainly not short of talent and will be going all guns blazing in order to win this match.

Netherlands: Stephan Myburgh, Michael Rippon, Timothy Gruijters, Ben Cooper, Wesley Barresi (wk), Roelof van der Merwe, Pieter Seelaar, Mudassar Bukhari, Timm van der Gugten, Paul van Meekeren, Ahsan Malik, Peter Borren (c), Vivian Kingma, Max O’Dowd, Sikander Zulfiqar, Shane Snater, Ashraf Din

Nepal: Paras Khadka (c), Gyanendra Malla, Anil Mandal, Sharad Vesawkar, Sagar Pun, Raju Rijal (wk), Binod Bhandari, Sompal Kami, Basant Regmi, KC Karan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Prithu Baskota, Shakti Gauchan, Avinash Karn, Rajesh Pulami, Siddhant Lohani, Mahesh Chhetri, Pradeep Airee, Mahaboob Alam, Irshad Ahmed, Subash Khakurel, Sushan Bhari, Naresh Bahadur Budayair, Lohan Louwrens