Prithvi Shaw, IPL 2018, DD, India A, Shreyas Iyer
Prithvi Shaw has scored 205 runs in 5 IPL matches so far AFP

BCCI announced the India A squad which will tour England for 4-day Tests and a series of 50-over matches. Prithvi Shaw has been selected in both squads, while his Under-19 teammate Shubman Gill will feature only in the limited-over leg. Shaw and Gill had both performed very well in the ICC U-19 World Cup, guiding India to the title. Shreyas Iyer will lead the team in the limited over format while Karun Nair will lead the three four day games two against West Indies A and one against England Lions.

Along with Shaw, Mayank Agarwal and Vijay Shankar will be a part of both squads. Ankit Bawne, Shahbaz Nadeem and Jayant Yadav, men who have featured regularly for India A, have all been picked for the longer format. Ranji Trophy stars Rajneesh Gurbani and Navdeep Saini have also been given a chance.

Shaw thanked the selectors for the opportunity: “It feels really good. I think it will be a great opportunity to me to go there and perform for my team. I will grab the opportunity with both my hands. I will try my best over there. I thank the selectors for giving me a chance for this India A tour.”

Shaw had already made news when he was compared to Sachin Tendulkar after his domestic success. He is currently doing an amazing job in IPL for Delhi Daredevils, whom Shaw thanked for their support: “Thanks to all the seniors out there who have supported me quite a lot giving me those positive things what you need in IPL. There are lots of experienced players in the team like captain Shreyas, Gauti-bhai [Gautam Gambhir] and all the seniors.”

Deepak Hooda, Hanuma Vihari, K Gowtham, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar and Khaleel Ahmed make their way in the limited overs side because of good performances in the domestic season. Axar Patel, Rishabh Pant and Vijay Shankar have also been selected for the tri-series.

India A squad for tri-series: Shreyas Iyer (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubhman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Vijay Shankar, Krishnappa Gowtham, Akshar Patel, Krunal Pandya, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur

India A squad for four-day games: Karun Nair (c), Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravikumar Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari, Ankit Bawne, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ankit Rajpoot, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Rajneesh Gurbani