Ramesh Powar appointed India A’s bowling coach
Ramesh Powar has earlier coached Indian women's team. @BCCI

Former India off-spinner Ramesh Powar has been appointed as the bowling coach of India A for the upcoming five-match one-day series and two four-day games against South Africa A, starting August 29.

Powar had earlier held the post of Indian women’s team head coach. His stint came to an end following the Women’s T20 World Cup in West Indies. India made it to the semi-finals, where they lost to England. Upon the team’s return to the country, senior player Mithali Raj, in her letter to BCCI, accused the 41-year-old of trying to destroying her career. India’s ODI captain was kept out of playing XI for the semi-final contest, that India lost.

According to a report in ESPNCricinfo, Sitanshu Kotak and Paras Mhambrey have been promoted to the top coaching posts with the India A and India Under-19 teams, respectively.

Kotak, the former Saurashtra batsman, will perform head coach and batting coach duties with India A. The appointments are only till the upcoming tour of India by South Africa A for a series of two four-day matches and five one-dayers.

Former India fast bowler Mhambrey will be head coach as well as the bowling coach of the junior side at the upcoming Asia Cup in Colombo in September. Former India batsman Hrishikesh Kanitkar and Abhay Sharma will be the batting and fielding coaches, respectively.

The BCCI later invited applications for the head coach post. Powar was one of the candidates in the fray. WV Raman, who was the second preference on the list of CAC, was given the charge after first preference Gary Kirsten was found conflicted due to his involvement with IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Meanwhile, the five one-dayers between India A and South Africa A will be played on August 29, 31, September 2, 4 and 6. All the matches will be played at Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvanthapuram.

Manish Pandey will lead the home side in the first three matches. Shreyas Iyer will take over the charge for the final two matches. Temba Bavuma will lead South Africa A.

India A squad for first three matches: Manish Pandey (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Nitish Rana, Ricky Bhui, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed.