Live Cricket Score, Ranji Trophy, Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Ranji Trophy 2016-17 live score, ranji trophy live day 1, Uttar Pradesh vs Railways, Uttar Pradesh vs Railways Live score, Ranji Trophy Live Streaming day 1, Ranji Trophy Match Results
Suresh Raina was the top scorer with 91 runs Getty Images (File Photo)

Former champions Railways put up a brilliant show, as the continued to trail fellow former champions Uttar Pradesh by 241 runs, on Day 1 of Round 8 of the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2016-17, at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on Tuesday. Earlier, the Railways bowlers put up a stellar show, as they bowled the UP batsmen out, while UP were shot out for 259, with skipper Suresh Raina, being the top scorer with 91 runs, while Anureet Singh and skipper Karn Sharma claimed four wickets each. As for Railways, they are currently on 18 for the loss of a wicket, with Shivakant Shukla getting dismissed for seven. Full Cricket Updates, Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Day 1, Round 8

Earlier, Railways won the coin toss and elected to field first, while the UP batsmen were off to a shaky start, as there were hardly any good partnerships. And just when it seemed that they were building up a partnership, the fall of wickets made the UP innings an inconsistent one. Nevertheless, opener Shivam Chaudhary scored a healthy 43, followed by the skipper’s brilliant innings of 91, that mostly allowed UP to get past the 250-run mark, while tailender Saurabh Kumar too scored an impressive half-century to giving a minor finishing touch to the UP innings. Bowelrs Anureet and Karn Sharma just nailed the UP innings. Apart from them, Karan Thakur too claimed 2 wickets. Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

As for the Railways batting, with just 17 runs on the board, the opneing wicket in the form of Shivakant Shukla fell, who was dismissed for mere 7 off Praveen Kumar, while opener Saurabh Wakaskar and AG Sehrawat are currently batting.

Brief scores:

Uttar Pradesh 259 (Suresh Raina 91, Saurabh Kumar 53; Karn Sharma 4 for 48, Anureet Singh 4 for 67) lead Railways 18 for 1 (Saurabh Wakaskar 11; Praveen Kumar 1 for 6) by 241 runs.

(Ayush Gupta is a reporter at CricketCountry. A passionate supporter of Manchester United, he idolises Roger Federer and is also a World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) maniac. He can be followed on Twitter @Ayush24x7)