Pradeep Sangwan is unbeaten on 39 for Delhi    Getty Images
Pradeep Sangwan is unbeaten on 39 for Delhi Getty Images

As many as 18 wickets fell on the first day in Round 9 of Ranji Trophy 2016-17 match between Delhi and Saurashtra. Delhi have a slight edge after having secured a 102-run lead with 2 wickets in hand, before bundling out Saurashtra for 92. Picking up four wickets with the ball, Pradeep Sangwan has been the star for Delhi remaining unbeaten at 39. Only three Saurashtra batsmen managed to get to double figures, with Prerak Mankad top-scoring with 33. KM Parmar and Snell Patel scored 12 and 26 respectively. Other than Sangwan, medium pacer Sumit Narwal also picked up four wickets. Part-time spinner Nitish Rana picked up the other two wickets to leave Saurashtra reeling.

In reply, Delhi got off to a bad start as well. They lost the wicket of Shikhar Dhawan (16) in the ninth over which ensured regular breakthroughs for his side. There were few useful contributions as wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant scored 28-ball 40, including seven fours and a six. Other than that Manan Sharma scored 33 with Sangwan batting on 39. The lower-order has come to Delhi s rescue as they now have a 100-run plus lead. They will look to extend their lead on Day two and look to put the Saurashtra batsmen under pressure.

Full Cricket Updates: Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Round 9, Day 1

If Day One is anything to go by, this match could be done and dusted on Day Two itself, adding to another early finishe this season. As far as the Saurashtra bowling is concerned., fast bowler Kaushang Patel has four wickets to his name whereas Jaydev Unadkat and Saurya Sanandiya grabbed two wickets apiece.

Earlier, Delhi had won the toss and elected to bowl. Delhi need a to win big if they are to confirm a place in the quarter-final. Last year s runners-up Saurashtra, who are without Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara this season, are more or less out of contention.

Brief Scores:

Saurashtra 92 (Snell Patel 26, Prerak Mankad 33; Sumit Narwal 4 for 27, Pradeep Sangwan 4 for 25) trail Delhi 194 for 8( Rishabh Pant 40, Pradeep Sangwan 39*; Kaushang Patel 4 for 59, Saurya Sanandiya 2 for 51) by 102 runs