Left-arm spinner Jagadeesha Suchith nine for 103, his best bowling figures in first-class cricket, helped Karnatak pocket three points against defending champions Vidarbha on the final day of their Elite A Round 2 Ranji Trophy 2018-19 match at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur on Thursday.

Resuming their second innings score at 72/2 with a lead of one run, Suchith, who had snapped four wickets in the first dig, had the experienced Wasim Jaffer trapped lbw for 34. Akshay Wadkar then added 12 before he was caught behind by BR Sharath off pacer Prasidh Krishna. Suchith then returned to claim his third wicket that ended Ganesh Satish s 164-ball 79. Apoorv Wankhade departed notched his second first-class fifty and was castled for 51 by Suchith, who sent Shrikan Wagh two balls later for a duck.

The Vidarbha tail hardly offered any resistance. Darshan Nalkande was dismissed for a two-ball duck after he was run out by Suchith, while Krishna accounted for the last two wickets Akshay Wakhare (2) and Lalit Yadav (0) as Vidarbha were skittled out for 228 to leave Karnataka with 157 runs to win. Suchith returned with five for 70 in his 32 overs.

Karnataka s run chase was not without drama. The plan to promote Sharath, who smashed a century, batting at No. 7 in the first innings, failed as the wicketkeeper-batman returned without troubling the scorers. Karun Nair continued his poor form and added three after he was caught by substitute fielder SK Wath to give Aditya Sarwate his first wicket of the innings.

Karnataka soon found themselves in a spot of bother at 24/3 when Dega Nischal, the first innings centurion, was castled for 9 off Lalit Yadav. Krishnamurthy Siddharth added 16 before Sarwate picked up his second wicket and added a third in Sanjay Ramaswamy, who scored an 80-ball 30 on a deteriorating pitch as Karnataka ended the final day at 76/6. For Vidarbha, Sarwate, who snapped five in his first dig, added four in the second, to return with figures of 9/115 in the match.

Brief scores: Karnataka 378 & 76/6 (Aditya Sarwate 4/24) versus Vidarbha 307 & 228 (Ganesh Satish 79; Jagadeesha Suchith 5/50) ends in a draw