Ranji Trophy 2018-19, Round 9, Elite B, Day 3: From 35/3 to 35 all out, Madhya Pradesh suffer incredible collapse

MP's 35 is the Ranji Trophy's 12th lowest score.

Related articles

Madhya Pradesh suffered an incredible collapse on day three of their Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Round 9 Elite B match on Wednesday chasing Andhra’s 342 as they went from 35/3 to 35 all out – losing six wickets in 23 balls without any runs – and lost their final Ranji Trophy league game by 307 runs.

Andhra, who picked up six points, finish sixth in group B, while table-toppers Madhya Pradesh, still leading the group with 24 points from eight matches, are virtually out of the knockouts. This time five teams from Group A and B combined will progress to the knockouts. (ALSO READ: Unbeaten Uttarakhand qualify for knockouts)

With opener Gourav Yadav retired hurt, MP were already down with one batsmen. Six wickets fell in a gap of 23 balls without a single run scored. Only two batsmen – Aryaman Birla (12) and Yash Dubey (16) – managed to register double digits. The next highest scorer was Ajay Rohera, who scored six runs.

This is however not the lowest score registered in Ranji Trophy history. Hyderabad registered the lowest total when they were dismissed by Rajasthan for just 21 runs in the 2010/11 season.


MP’s 35 is the 12th lowest score in Ranji Trophy history. MP’s previous lowest score was 60 which they recorded against Baroda in the 2013-14 season. (ALSO READ: Bihar’s Ashutosh Aman breaks Bishan Singh Bedi’s long standing record of most wickets in a Ranji season)

MP’s embarrassing collapse began with the wicket of captain Naman Ojha, who departed for just 1 off P Vijaykumar. When Ojha departed, MP were 35/3. Birla walked back four overs later after he was dismissed by KV Sasikanth, who claimed the wicket of Shubham Sharma in the fifth delivery of the same over.

Two overs later, Venkatesh Iyer and Kartikeya Kumar fell in consecutive deliveries to Sasikanth, who was denied his hat-trick, but claimed the wicket of Ishwar Pandey in the last delivery of the 16th over. Dubey’s 32-ball stay at the crease was brought to an end by Vijaykumar which sealed victory for Andhra after Yadav was declared retired hurt. (ALSO READ: Pankaj Singh first medium-pacer to 400 Ranji Trophy wickets)

Sasikanth and Vijaykumar were the wreckers-in-chief of MP’s downfall registering figures of 6/18 and 3/17 respectively. Andhra used only two bowlers. Pacer Girinath Reddy, who took six wickets in the first dig, did not bowl.

Earlier, resuming their day at 198/7, ahead by 239 runs, Karan Shinde, overnight on 45, went to his register his maiden first-class century to remain unbeaten on 103 as Andhra posted 301 in their second dig. Shinde, who faced 215 balls, tonked 16 boundaries during his stay at the crease. Manish Golamaru offered good support facing 67 balls for his 21.

Brief scores: Andhra 132 & 301 (Karan Shinde 103*) beat Madhya Pradesh 91 & 35 (KV Sasikanth 6/18, P Vijaykumar 3/17) by 307 runs

trending this week