After a good start on the opening day which saw Sandeep Pattanaik register a century, Odisha were pushed beyond the 300-run mark, courtesy Suryakant Pradhan s brisk 65 off 59 on day two of their Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Round 9 Elite C match against Goa on Tuesday.

Odisha ended their first innings at 352 and grabbed a 236-lead after Goa were skittled for 116 with Pradhan working his mojo with the ball picking up five for 48 in his 10 overs. In their second innings, Odisha were 37/1 at stumps, comfortably ahead by 273 runs.

ALSO READ: Rajasthan qualify for knockouts after innings and 77-run win against Tripura

Earlier, resuming from their overnight score of 229/7, Odisha lost Abhishek Raut early in the day after he was cleaned up by Lakshay Garg, who picked up his third wicket, for 33. Pradhan batted brilliantly for his 65 which included five boundaries and four sixes, but his stint was ended by Amogh Desai in the 103rd over.

For Goa, Desai (3/77) and Garg (3/87) were the pick of the bowlers.

In reply, Goa were off to a steady start with captain Sagun Kamat and Sumiran Amonkar stitching 49 runs. However, Pradhan broke the partnership to see the back of Kamat, who fell seven runs short of his fifty. Pradhan returned two overs later to dismiss Desai 4.

Amonkar was the next to depart to Basant Mohanty for 20, while Amit Verma fell to Rajesh Mohanty for just 10.

Goa then suffered a middle order collapse. They lost the next three wickets for just one run with Rajesh Mohanty accounting for two wickets of Snehal Kauthankar (0) and Darshan Misal (0) both who were dismissed in three deliveries of the 30th over.

The lower order hardly had any sting with Pradhan returning to claim his fifer to see the end of Krishna Das for 8.

Rajesh Mohanty returned with figures of three for 52 in his 15 overs.

Odisha lost first innings centurion Pattanaik for a duck to Das in the very first delivery. However, Anurag Sarangi and Debasish Samantray ensured no further casualty, batting on 23 and 9 respectively.

Brief scores: Odisha 352 (Sandeep Pattanaik 100, Suryakant Pradhan 65; Amogh Desai 3/77, Lakshay Garg 3/87) & 37/1 lead Goa 116 (Sagun Kamat 43; Pradhan 5/48, Rajesh Mohanty 3/52) by 273 runs