Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed Kumar Sangakkara for all the four times in his final Test series © AFP
Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed Kumar Sangakkara for all the four times in his final 2-match Test series © AFP

India came back in the series against Sri Lanka in a superb fashion to win the second Test against Sri Lanka at the P Sara Oval, Colombo by 278 runs. Ravichandran Ashwin was the best performer for India taking five wickets in the second innings to script a memorable win for India. India had lost the first Test at Galle after dominating the game for most part of the four days but the win in the second Test was a near perfect performance from the Indian team. Both teams will now head to Sinhalese Sports Club, Colombo with the series leveled 1-1 and all to play for. Live cricket score India vs Sri Lanka 2015, 2nd Test at Colombo, Day 5

India had a perfect finish on the fifth and final day of the Test. Angelo Mathews was dismissed on the very first ball of play on Day Five and that set the tone for India. Virat Kohli kept ringing in the changes, and his move to bring Amit Mishra into the attack worked as he bowled Dinesh Chandimal round his legs. India kept the pressure on and after a brief stand between Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne, the hosts lost wickets far too easily. Read: Ajinkya Rahane: The quintessential team man

Ashwin took out Thirimanne lunging at one, caught brilliantly by substitute Cheteshwar Pujara. Jehan Mubarak did not trouble the scorers and was out caught first ball to reduce Sri Lanka to 111 for six. Dhammika Prasad‘s dismissal summed up the innings from Sri Lanka, he swung hard at one outside off and was caught at Mishra at mid-wicket giving Ashwin his fourth wicket. Live cricket updates India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd Test at Colombo, Day 5

Ashwin completed his five-wicket haul when he bowled Karunaratne for a score of 46. It also marked a special feet for an Indian spinner, Ashwin went past Harbhajan Singh to take 17 wickets in a series in Sri Lanka and there is still a Test to go. The win will also be special for India since it is the first win for India under the captaincy of Kohli. Rain forced early lunch after India had the host nine down. Mishra took the last wicket and completed the 278-run win.

India set Sri Lanka a target of 413 when they declared after scoring 325 runs losing eight wickets. India’s main contribution came from the 140-run stand between Murali Vijay and Ajinkya Rahane. Vijay missed out on his ton while Rahane ensured that he notched up his fourth Test ton to help India build a solid base. The lower order chipped in with handy runs as Tharindu Kaushal and Dhammik Prasad both finished with four wickets each. Sri Lanka were reduced to 72 for 2 at stumps. Kaushal Silva did not last long but it was Kumar Sangakkara whose dismissal led to an emotional breakdown for the Sri Lankan fans as he was out for mere 18 in his final Test innings. Read:Kumar Sangakkara vs Ravichandran Ashwin: The final four dismissals of the legend’s career

India were in a spot of bother when Mathews and Thirimanne had steadied Sri Lanka with a stand of 127 runs. Mathews scored his sixth Test ton before Sri Lanka collapsed; losing seven wickets for 65 runs, to get bowled out for 306.  India got a lead of 87 runs and Amit Mishra was the pick of the bowlers with a spell of four for 43 in his 21 overs of bowling with Ishant Sharma taking a couple of wickets. India earlier posted a total of 393 based on a 164-run stand between Virat Kohli(78) and KL Rahul (108). The lower middle order too chipped in with crucial fifties from Rohit Sharma and Saha. Rangana Herath took four for 81 for the hosts. Read: Kumar Sangakkara retires: Will we ever get to see the perfect mix like the Sri Lankan legend?

Brief scores:

India 393 ( KL Rahul 108, Virat Kohli 78, Rohit Sharma 79; Dhammika Prasad 2 for 84, Rangana Herath 4 for 81) & 325 for 8 decl. (Murali Vijay 82, Ajinkya Rahane 126; Dhammik Prasad 4 for 41; Tharindu Kaushal 4 for 118) beat Sri Lanka 306 (Lahiru Thirimanne 62, Angelo Mathews 102: Ishant Sharma 2 for 68, Amit Mishra 4 for 43) & 134 (Dimuth Karunaratne 46: Ravichandran Ashwin 5 for 42 ) by 278 runs.

Man of the Match: KL Rahul.

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery

(Nikhil Popat is a diehard cricket enthusiast and a PotterHead till the end of time. He can be followed on Twitter @CricCrazyNIKS)