Ravichandran Ashwin was appointed India A's captain on Tuesday    AFP
Ravichandran Ashwin was appointed India A’s captain on Tuesday AFP

A day after being named the captain of India A, Ravichandran Ashwin has been ruled out of the upcoming Deodhar Trophy 2017-18 due to a niggle. The Tamil Nadu bowler has been advised a week’s rest by the BCCI medical team. Earlier this week, Ashwin was also named the captain of Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) for the upcoming edition of IPL. Having played for Chennai Super Kings (2009 to 2015), Ashwin played for Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) in 2016. This will be the first time he will appear for the Punjab-based outfit.

According to a BCCI release, the All-India Senior Selection Committee has decided to include Jharkhand left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem as replacement. Ankit Bawne will replace Ashwin as India’s A captain. Akshdeep Nath, who was originally a part of India A side will now move to India B.

Revised squads:

India A: Ankit Bawne (c), Prithvi Shaw, Unmukt Chand, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shubman Gill, Ricky Bhui, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wk), Krunal Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Basil Thampi, Kulwant Khejroliya

India B: Shreyas Iyer (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Akshdeep Nath, Manoj Tiwary, Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (wk), Jayant Yadav, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari

The third team will be the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 winners Karnataka. The upcoming Deodhar Trophy will be held in Dharamsala from March 4-8.