Shahbaz Nadeem Rahul Sanghvi best List A figures Jharkhand Rajasthan
Shahbaz Nadeem en route history (photo: agencies)

Shahbaz Nadeem now holds the best figures for anyone in the history of List A cricket. Playing for Jharkhand in a Vijay Hazare Trophy match at Murugappa Ground, Chennai, Nadeem wrecked Rajasthan with figures of 10-4-10-8. Nadeem broke the record of Rahul Sanghvi, who had taken 8 for 15 for Delhi against Himachal Pradesh at Una, back in 1997-98. Nadeem took the first eight Rajasthan wickets to fall before Anukul Roy dismissed Rahul Chahar to end the sequence. Here are the best figures in List A cricket:

Eight-wicket hauls in List A cricket
Figures Bowler Team Against Venue Season
8/10 Shahbaz Nadeem Jharkhand Rajasthan Chennai (Murugappa) 2018-19
8/15 Rahul Sanghvi Delhi Himachal Pradesh Una 1997-98
8/19 Chaminda Vaas Sri Lanka Zimbabwe Colombo (SSC) 2001-02
8/20 Tharaka Kottehewa Nondescripts Ragama Colombo (Moors) 2007-08
8/21 Michael Holding Derbyshire Sussex Hove 1988
8/26 Keith Boyce Essex Lancashire Old Trafford 1971
8/30 Romesh Eranga Burgher Sri Lanka Army Colombo (Colts) 2007-08
8/31 Derek Underwood Kent Scotland Edinburgh 1987
8/38 Brandon Mavuta Rising Stars Manicaland Harare (Takashinga) 2017-18
8/40 Yeasin Arafat Gazi Group Abahani Limited Fatullah 2017-18
8/43 Shaun Tait South Australia Tasmania Adelaide 2003-04
8/52 Kevin Stoute West Indies A Lancashire Old Trafford 2010
8/66 Simon Francis Somerset Derbyshire Derby 2004

Keith Boyce (8 for 26) was the first to take an eight-wicket haul, back in 1971, in the early days of limited-overs cricket. Derek Underwood (8 for 31) was the second, in 1987, and Boyce’s record was broken the next year, by Michael Holding (8 for 21). Sanghvi went past Holding over twenty years ago.

Of the above, Chaminda Vaas is the only one to take eight wickets in an ODI.

Brief scores:

Rajasthan 73 in 28.3 overs (Ankit Lamba 20; Shahbaz Nadeem 8 for 10) vs Jharkhand.