Shane Warne will be pitted against Muttiah Muralidharan in GOAT contest
Shane Warne will be pitted against Muttiah Muralitharan in GOAT contest

Cricket Australia’s One-Day International (ODI) GOAT contest has witnessed a new turn with the elimination of star players like Pakistan all-rounder, Shahid Afridi, whereas Australia’s legendary spinner, Shane Warne, is all set to clash with Sri Lanka and Test cricket’s highest wicket taker, Muttiah Muralitharan in the next round. The clash of the titans has now become one of the most awaited contests in Cricket Australia’s GOAT contest. On the other hand, Waqar Younis defeated his countryman, Wasim Akram in the contest too. The competition commenced with 64 big names from the 50-over format and after a series of voting the winner will be announced. The format is based like a knock-out tournament through head-to-head match ups, where every single day the winner from the first round will proceed to the next stage. READ: Will it be Virat Kohli vs Sachin Tendulkar in this unique contest?

The first day of the eliminator round saw some big names from Indian cricket being eliminated from the list. These names include former greats like Sourav Ganguly and Anil Kumble whereas from the current crop, Rohit Sharma and limited-overs skipper have been ousted.

Ganguly was putted against legendary Pakistani opener, Saeed Anwar in which the latter won through maximum votes. India’s current ODI and T20 opener, Rohit Sharma went head-to-head with his idol and master blaster, Sachin Tendulkar, in this ODI Greatest ODI Player of All Time clash. India’s greatest batsman, Sachin Tendulkar, is regarded as one of the top contenders in this competition with the plethora of runs and tons under his belt. Tendulkar represented India in 463 ODI’s and amassed 18,426 runs with 49 centuries in his kitty.

In previous results, Indian spin sensation Anil Kumble got eliminated from the contest by Shane Warne, Virat Kohli defeated Kevin Pieterson while Virender Sehwag and Kapil Dev cruised past Gordon Greenidge and Daniel Vettori.  One of the best captains and finishers in modern-day cricket, MS Dhon, however, lost the battle to Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara and bowed out.