Sharad Pawar is now the lone candidate for the top post at MCA and is likely to be elected unopposed © Gettty Images

Mumbai: Oct 17, 2013

Sharad Pawar is all set to be elected unopposed as the Mumbai Cricket Association President after BJP leader Gopinath Munde’s appeal against the rejection of his application to contest for the top post at tomorrow’s polls was turned down on Thursday.

The former Maharashtra deputy chief minister, whose application to contest the polls was rejected by the election officer on the basis of his residential status, had appealed against the verdict but that too was rejected, said outgoing MCA chief Ravi Savant.

Munde’s application was rejected by the election officer on Saturday as the address on his electoral registration was Beed after which he filed an appeal which has now been turned down.

According to MCA rules, only a Mumbai resident can become a governing member of the cricketing body.

Explaining the rationale behind the rejection of Munde’s appeal, Savant said that as per a Bombay High Court order of 2006, a person could have residences in different cities, but he is considered to be a permanent resident of only that place where his name appears on the electoral rolls.

“Mr Munde had filed an appeal with which he had attached various documents to show that he has a residence in Mumbai. But that only indicates he has got a residence in Mumbai. But the rule says he has got to be a resident of Mumbai. Whatever was shown to us did indicate he has got a permanent residence in Mumbai.

“[But] Bombay High Court has answered in 2006 that a person can be taken safely as permanent resident where he is listed in the voters list. I may have two places [of residence] but to be a permanent resident of one place the criteria is the voters’ list,” Savant said.

Savant stated that post the development, Union Agriculture Minister Pawar is the lone candidate for the MCA presidentship and is all set to be elected unopposed at the biennial polls.

“There were two candidates after the last date of withdrawal. Therefore, you can safely say Sharad Pawar is the only candidate left now, so he is unopposed,” he said.

Pawar is being backed by all three groups contesting the biennial election, which has already seen intense lobbying for all the other posts in the managing committee.

The three panels — Bal Mahaddalkar group, Cricket First and Shetty’s group — are headed by outgoing MCA chief Ravi Savant, incumbent vice president Vijay Patil and Cricket Board’s general manager (game development), Prof. Ratnakar Shetty.

Savant and Patil are involved in a fight for bagging the two vice presidents’ post in a triangular contest also featuring Shetty’s panel member Pankaj Thakur.

MCA’s long-time administrator Shetty, however, has been debarred from contesting the polls as he is a paid employee of MCA’s parent body BCCI.

The treasurer’s post would see a straight contest between Vinod Deshpande (Mahaddalkar group) and Mayank Khandwala (Cricket First).

There are four contestants for the two joint secretaries’ post – incumbents Nitin Dalal and Dr P V Shetty (both Mahaddalkar group), Dr Unmesh Khanvilkar (Cricket First) and former joint secretary Pravin Barve (Shetty group)