Skipper Priyam Garg leads from the front as India Under-19 beat Bangladesh Under-19 to win tri-series

Yashasvi Jaiswal (50), Divyansh Saxena (55) and wicketkeeper Dhruv Jurel (59 not out) also chipped in with half-centuries.

Related articles

India Under-19 beat Bangladesh Under-19 by six wickets to win the tri-series final. @Twitter/BCCI

The Indian U-19 team beat Bangladesh by six wickets and won the U19 Tri-Series title chasing a target of 262 at Hove on Monday.

India rode on fifties from openers Yashasvi Jaiswal (50), Divyansh Saxena (55), skipper Priyam Garg (73) and wicket-keeper Dhruv Jurel (59 not out) to cross the line with eight balls to spare.

For Bangladesh U-19, Mahmudul Hasan Joy scored a 134-ball 109 to push his team’s total to 262. He hit nine fours and one six in his innings. Mahmudul shared a stand of 65 runs with opener Parvez Hossain Emon (60) before adding 64 runs with Shamim Hossain (32).

However, apart from Tanzid Hasan (26) after that, none of the Bangladeshi batsmen managed to reach double figures. Kartik Tyagi (2/49) and Sushant Mishra (2/33) starred with the ball for India.

ALSO READ: Cricket-loving Agra thrilled at local boy Dhruv Jurel’s appointment as India U-19 captain

By contrast, it was a team effort with the bat from India with four of the six batsmen scoring half centuries. The opening pair of Jaiswal and Saxena put up a 104-run stand before the latter was caught and bowled by Rakibul Hasanin the 23rd over

India lost two more wickets in quick succession as Jaiswal and Pragnesh Durgesh Kanpillewar got out in the 26th and 27th overs respectively.

However, Garg and Jurel joined forces and added 109 runs together before Shoriful Islam dismissed Garg in the 46th over. Tilak Varma, who scored an unbeaten 16 off 10 balls, and Jurel then took India home with eight balls to spare.

Brief Scores: India U-19: 264 for 4 in 48.4 overs (Priyam Garg 73, Dhruv Jurel 59 not out; Rakibul Hasan 2/55) beat Bangladesh U-19: 261 all out in 50 overs (Mahmudul Hasan Joy 109, Parvez Hossain Emon 60; Sushant Mishra 2/33) by six wickets

(With inputs from IANS)

trending this week