South Africa elect to field against Sri Lanka in 1st ODI at Colombo

AB de Villiers will keep the wickets for the tourists © Getty Images

Colombo: Jul 20, 2013

South Africa captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to field against Sri Lanka in their first One-Day International at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Saturday.

South Africa and Sri Lanka are hoping to recover from recent setbacks in one-day cricket when they contest a five-match series starting in Colombo.

Both teams were knocked out in the semi-finals of the Champions Trophy in the United Kingdom despite being rated as two of the strongest contenders in the eight-nation tournament.


Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Jehan Mubarak, Thisara Perera, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga, Lasith Malinga.

South Africa: Colin Ingram, Alviro Petersen, Jean-Paul Duminy, AB de Villiers (c&wk), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Chris Morris, Morne Morkel

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the first ODI between Sri Lanka and South Africa here