South Africa © Getty Images
South Africa will want to wrap up the series © Getty Images

South Africa and Australia will battle it in the third and final Twenty20 International (T20I) at Cape Town on Wednesday. David Warner and Glenn Maxwell’s record partnership helped Australia to a last-ball victory in the previous T20I at Wanderers in Johannesburg after David Miller propelled South Africa to victory in the opening fixture. Australia were set 205 to win, and were reeling at 32 for 3 in the sixth over before Warner (77) and Maxwell (75) put on 161 off 87 balls. Warner was adjudged Man of the Match for his innings of 77 off 40 balls with 6 fours and 5 sixes, while Maxwell’s 75 came off 43 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes. LIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: South Africa vs Australia, 3rd T20I at Cape Town

As reported by AFP, after the match Australian skipper Steven Smith said, “They batted with great composure and played some great cricket shots. They summed up the situation really well.” South African captain Faf du Plessis later said, “That partnership blew us away. There are small margins when two teams are playing good cricket. There were one or two things in the field that we could have done better. Two full tosses towards the end cost us.” LIVE CRICKET UPDATES: South Africa vs Australia, 3rd T20I at Cape Town


Earlier, du Plessis scored an attractive 79 off 41 balls with 5 sixes and 5 fours as South Africa amassed 204 for 7. However, despite needing to chase at over 10 runs per over, Maxwell and Warner pulled off a phenomenal run-chase. Kagiso Rabada bowled a superb spell both at the start and at the death but the South African fielding floundered in the big moments and Australia went over the line.


Australia: Steven Smith (c), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Peter Nevill (wk), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Usman Khawaja, James Faulkner, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ashton Agar, John Hastings.

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (c), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien,Quinton de Kock, (wk), AB de Villiers, Jean-Paul Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, David Wiese.

Catch the live cricket scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary of South Africa vs Australia, 3rd T20I at Cape Town