South Africa won the toss and sent Sri Lanka in to bat in the first Twenty20 international at Newlands on Tuesday.

South African captain Faf du Plessis said the opening game in the three-match series would be a final run-out for what he said was “pretty much the World Cup squad” before he and other key players sit out the remaining two matches.

Fast bowlers Lungi Ngidi and Anrich Nortje were rested because of injury with veteran Dale Steyn and rookie Lutho Sipamla coming in.

Opening batsman Reeza Hendricks was given a chance to find form after a disappointing one-day series. He replaced Aiden Markram.

Sri Lankan captain Lasith Malinga said his team wanted to replicate the team of 2016/17 which won the T20 series after losing the one-day series 5-0.

“It is a different format,” said Malinga. “We are happy to bat. We have some spinners to defend a total.”


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock (wkt), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, JP Duminy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Lutho Sipamla, Imran Tahir.

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (captain), Niroshan Dickwella (wkt), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Perera, Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay.

Umpires:Adrian Holdstock, Bongani Jele (both RSA)

TV umpire: Shaun George (RSA)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)