Sri Lanka won the toss and sent South Africa in to bat in the third and final Twenty20 international at the Wanderers Stadium on Sunday.

Sri Lankan captain Lasith Malinga said he hoped his side could restrict South Africa to “150 or 160” and then put on a better batting performance than they have managed in losing all five one-day internationals as well as the first two T20 games.

It is South Africa s last match of their home season.

“We want to make sure we end the season on a high,” captain JP Duminy said.

Duminy said all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius had been promoted to number three in the batting order because of his limited opportunities to bat in previous matches.

Batsman Rassie van der Dussen and fast bowler Dale Steyn made way for all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo and fast bowler Junior Dala in the South African team, while fast bowler Suranga Lakmal came in for Sri Lanka at the expense of batsman Kusal Mendis.


South Africa: JP Duminy (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, Dwaine Pretorius, David Miller, Sinethemba Qeshile (wkt), Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Junior Dala, Lutho Sipamla, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (captain), Niroshan Dickwella (wkt), Avishka Fernando, Angelo Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Thisara Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Jeffrey Vandersay.