Sri Lanka opt to bat against South Africa in 2nd ODI at Colombo

Sri Lanka crushed South Africa by 180 runs in the first match © AFP

Colombo: Jul 23, 2013

Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and elected to bat against South Africa in the second One-Day International at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Tuesday.

In the first ODI, Sri Lanka handed South Africa an embarrassing 180-run defeat. Chasing Sri Lanka’s 320 for five, the Proteas were bowled out for 140 in 31.5 overs at the R Premadasa.

The South Africans were blown away by a masterclass innings from Kumar Sangakkara (169 from 137 balls) and were never really in the running during their chase. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals and Sri Lanka took a 1-0 lead in the five-match ODI series.


Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Dinesh Chandimal (c), Jehan Mubarak, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga, Lasith Malinga

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Alviro Petersen, Jean-Paul Duminy, AB de Villiers (c&wk), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Robin Peterson, Ryan McLaren, Chris Morris, Morne Morkel, Aaron Phangiso

Catch live scorecard and ball by ball commentary of the second ODI between Sri Lanka and South Africa here