Live Updates

  • 12:41 PM IST

  • 5:06 PM IST

    And we have another halt. This time bad light stops play in Colombo and players go off the playing area. Tough chances of the play starting today. Still, they have 55 minutes of play left should the conditions permit. Sri Lanka 85/2.

  • 4:46 PM IST

    And here’s a big wicket. Colin de Grandhomme has struck for New Zealand. Kusal Mendis is caught by wicketkeeper BJ Watling. Much-needed for New Zealand at this point. Sri Lanka lose their second wicket. Kusal Mendis c BJ Watling b Colin de Grandhomme 32 (70)

  • 4:41 PM IST

    The action has resumed in Colombo and New Zealand have again started the hunt to take a wicket. Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Mendis are not giving any chance to the bowlers, who continue to toil. After 32 overs, Sri Lanka 79/1.

  • 3:43 PM IST

    It’s tea time in Colombo. Sri Lanka 71/1 after 29 overs. Great start by Sri Lanka after winning the toss. They did lose the wicket of Lahiru Thirimanne but Dimuth Karunaratne has batted well. Kusal Mendis too has supported him well with 30 off 62. Sri Lanka need wickets in the last session.

  • 3:20 PM IST

    Sri Lanka are steady after that early blow in Thirimanne (2). Skipper Dimuth Karunaratne (34*) and Kusal Mendis (23*) have taken the score to 60/1 in 24 overs

  • 2:39 PM IST

    Gone! Lahiru Thirimanne is dismissed after handing an easy chance to Kane Williamson. Just couple of overs back, he had been dropped by BJ Watling off Will Somerville but the opener fails to make it count. Sri Lanka 29/1 Thirimanne c Williamson b Somerville 2 (35)

  • 2:05 PM IST

    Six overs gone, Sri Lanka are 15 without loss and happy to see off the new ball. Karunaratne has started positively cracking three boundaries already off his first 22 balls to reach 14.

  • 1:22 PM IST
    Sri Lanka have won the toss and they have decided to bat first. Akil Dananjaya, who was reported for suspect action a few days back, is not in the playing XI. Though he was allowed to bowl in this Test. For New Zealand, Colin de Grandhomme has come in for Mitchell Santner.

    Sri Lanka’s playing XI: Dimuth Karunaratne(c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Kumara.

    New Zealand’s playing XI: Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, William Somerville, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult
  • 11:43 AM IST

    The weather is only getting worse here. Heavy rains continue to fall in Colombo. In fact, it’s getting heavier and chances of day 1 being washed out are likely. The ground staff will need nearly two hours to ready the ground. We will return as soon as there an improvement in the weather.

  • 11:39 AM IST

    Hello and welcome to our live coverage of the 2nd Test between Sri Lanka and New Zealand at the P Sara Oval, Colombo.

Live: Sri Lanka vs New Zealand 2nd Test, Day 1 – Colin de Grandhomme removes Kusal Mendis after tea, Sri Lanka 79/2

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand live cricket score and ball by ball commentary, SL vs NZ 2nd Test, Day 1, live score at Colombo

Hello and welcome to our live coverage of the 2nd Test between Sri Lanka and New Zealand at the P Sara Oval, Colombo.

SL vs NZ Match Preview

New Zealand arrived in Colombo confident of beating hosts Sri Lanka 2-0 to topple India from the top of the ICC Test rankings, and determined to begin their run at the new ICC World Test Championship on a dominant note.

They went to Galle and battled, but ended up losing the first Test. The day five track in Galle did not turn as sharply as Kane Williamson expected it to, and New Zealand struggled to take wickets as Dimuth Karunaratne scored a superb century to maintain his unbeaten streak as Test captain. Under Karunaratne, Sri Lanka won both Test matches in South Africa earlier this year.

The teams will now play the second and final Test at Colombo’s P Sara Oval from Thursday, with Williamson’s team needing a win to avert a series loss. Seven years ago, New Zealand were beaten by 10 wickets in Galle and arrived at the P Sara Oval in similar scenes and then clinched a famous win. Will history repeat itself?

Sri Lanka likely 11: 1 Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), 2 Lahiru Thirimanne, 3 Kusal Mendis, 4 Angelo Mathews, 5 Kusal Perera/Dinesh Chandimal, 6 Dhananjaya de Silva, 7 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 8 Suranga Lakmal, 9 Lasith Embuldeniya, 10 Lahiru Kumara, 11 Lakshan Sandakan

New Zealand likely 11: 1 Jeet Raval, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Henry Nicholls, 6 BJ Watling (wk), 7 Todd Astle, 8 Tim Southee, 9 Will Somerville, 10 Trent Boult, 11 Ajaz Patel