Sri Lanka win toss and opt to bat against South Africa in 5th ODI

Sri Lanka have already sealed the five-match series 3-1 © AFP

Jul 31, 2013

Sri Lanka have won the toss and elected to bat first against South Africa in the fifth and final One-Day International (ODI) at the R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

The hosts have already sealed the series 3-1 and will look to continue their winning streak. Meanwhile, the Proteas will be hoping to restore some pride by winning the last game.

South African captain AB de Villiers said he wants a win to improve his nation’s poor track record in Sri Lanka, where the Proteas have won just two of their 14 completed one-dayers going back to 1993. “There is a lot to gain from the last game,’ de Villiers said. ‘We have not won much in Sri Lanka, so we are very keen to finish on a high.”

Meanwhile, Sri Lankan skipper Angelo Mathews insisted his side was looking to add to the tourists’ woes by winning the last match to make it a 4-1 scoreline. Sri Lanka have decided to rest the senior trio of Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga and Rangana Herath from the final match.


Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kushal Janith Perera, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews (c), Angelo Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis.

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers (c & wk), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Aaron Phangiso, Morne Morkel, Ryan McLaren, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.