Shaw and his captain Rahane made 41 runs for the opening wicket to put give Mumbai a good start after being put into bat. @ PTI

Finally, Mumbai have advanced to the next round this season. After an embarrassing Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season, Mumbai made amends which has now seen Ajinkya Rahane and Co. qualify to the next round the Super League of the Syed Mushtaq Ali 2019 trophy after an eight-run win against Ranji runners-up Saurashtra on Wednesday.

On a comeback trail, young Prithvi Shaw was once again among runs. Shaw and his captain Rahane made 41 runs for the opening wicket to give Mumbai a good start after being put into bat.

The partnership was broken after Shaw, who scored 36 off just 17 with the help of four boundaries and three sixes, was dismissed by Chetan Sakariya. Rahane fell for 11 after he was caught by his opposite number Jaydev Unadkat off Prerak Mankad.

Suryakumar Yadav added 29 off 19 before Mankad picked up his second wicket. Mankad returned in the 14th over to grab his third wicket in former captain Aditya Tare (1). Shreyas Iyer blasted a couple of sixes and a boundary during his 40-ball 36, while Akash Parkar chipped in with 20 off 14 as Mumbai were bowled out for 147 in 20 overs.

Mankad was the pick of the bowlers for Gujarat with three for 27 in four overs. Unadkkat went for 28 in his four overs and snapped two wickets.

In reply, Saurashtra lost Cheteshwar Pujara for 1 after he was dismissed by Dhawal Kulakrni. Harvik Desai didn t last long either after he edged it behind to Tare off Shardul Thakur.

Robin Uthappa then held the innings together with a fine 57 off 41, his innings laced with six boundaries and the solitary hit over the fence.

Saurashtra were on track when Uthappa was at the crease, but after his departure, it became difficult. They needed 22 off the last two overs. Despite conceding a six, Thakur picked two wickets of Dharmendrasinh Jadeja and Arpit Vasavada, the last recognised in the 19th over leaving Tushar Deshpande to defend 13 runs off the last over.

Deshpande pocketed the last two wickets of Dharmendrasinh Jadeja and Chetan Sakariya to trigger the celebrations in the Mumbai camp.

Brief scores: Mumbai 147 all out in 20 overs (Prithvi Shaw 36, Shreyas Iyer 36, Suryakumar Yadav 29; Prerak Mankad 3/27, Jaydev Unadkat 2/28) beat Saurashtra 139 all out in 19.5 overs (Robin Uthappa 57, Arpit Vasavada 36; Shardul Thakur 3/30, Dhawal Kularni 2/23, Tushar Deshpande 2/24) by 8 runs