Bowlers put in a collective effort as Vidarbha thumped Delhi in the Group B Super League clash of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 in Indore on Friday.

Vidarbha, this season s Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup champions, bowled out Delhi for a paltry total of 83 after electing to bowl at the Holkar Cricket Stadium. (ALSO READ: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Super League: Jharkhand prevail in last-ball thriller)

While opener Hiten Dalal scored 42 and Pawan Negi scored 18, all the other Delhi batsmen, including skipper Nitish Rana, scored in a single digit as the Ganesh Satish-led side ran through the Delhi side in 16.2 overs.

Four Vidarbha bowlers Umesh Yadav (2/10), Shrikant Wagh (2/12), Yash Thakur (2/13) and Akshay Karnewar (2/14) scalped two wickets each while Atharva Taide (1/2) scalped a wicket in his one over where he dismissed Delhi’s top run-getter of the match Dalal. Himmat Singh was out run-out. (ALSO READ: Shreyas Iyer to lead Mumbai in Mushtaq Ali T20 Super League stage)

Vidarbha chased down the total in 8.3 overs as the opening pair of Taide and Jitesh Sharma put up a 73-run partnership in 42 deliveries. While Sharma was dismissed after scoring 41 off 24 balls, Taide remained unbeaten, scoring 32 off 22 balls. Shalabh Shrivastava scored an unbeaten 8 off 5 balls as he and Taide sealed Vidarbha’s nine-wicket win.

Vidarbha will next face Uttar Pradesh on March 10 while Delhi will take on Mumbai on March 9. Mumbai will their first game of the Super League today when square off against Karnataka.

Brief scores: Vidarbha 85/1 (Jitesh Sharma 41, Atharva Taide 32 not out; Suboth Bhati 1/20) beat Delhi 83 all out (Hiten Dalal 42, Pawan Negi 18; Umesh Yadav 2/10, Shrikant Wagh 2/12) by nine wickets