Virender Sehwag with one of the team owners during the launch of Maratha Arabians    jersey    Maratha Arabians
Virender Sehwag will b leading Maratha Arabians Maratha Arabians

Cricket has grown leaps and bounds. Ever since its inception, the sport has caught eyeballs across the globe. It started with Test matches and gained momentum with the introduction of 65-, 60-, and 55-over matches before the length was normalised to 50 overs. World Cups played a massive role in consolidating viewers’ interests. Spectators turned up in large numbers to support their national (and domestic) cricketers in mega events. The same was the case, albeit the raised eyebrows, when South Africa hosted the inaugural edition of World T20. After becoming a blockbuster hit, many countries have started franchise cricket to promote and spread the shortest format in a big way.

The same is the case with T-10 League, the first of it’s kind, in Sharjah. It is being played as a form of franchise cricket which reduces the contest to 10 overs. It includes some big names of blink-and-miss format, from Virender Sehwag to Eoin Morgan to Shahid Afridi to Dwayne Bravo to Inzamam-ul-Haq to Shahid Afridi. The tournament kicks off from December 14. A four-day affair, the tournament will feature 6 sides. All the matches will be held in Sharjah.

Where to watch?

India: Sony ESPN

Pakistan: Ten Sports, GEO TV

Afghanistan: 1tv Afghanistan

Bangladesh: Channel 9

North Africa, Middle East: OSN Cricket

USA, UK: ARY Digital Network

The first match will be played between Kerala Kings and Bengal Tigers. Morgan-led Kings will be up against Sarfraz Ahmed’s Tigers. It will be followed by Sehwag-captaind Maratha Arabians versus Shahid Afridi-led Pakhtuns.